To love Madagascar!

in #adventure6 years ago

So this is my fist post of Many to come and being my fist post its probably best I tell you a little about myself .

I have been exploring the natural world for the last 13 years which makes up the total of my adult life.
Some of us are lucky enough to know exactly what we want to do in life at an early age. That was me ! I knew I loved wildlife and I knew I wanted to protect be involved and intertwine my life around it.
I started my working like as a safari guide in Africa focusing on walking safaris and giving people from around the word an holistic view of wildlife and biodiversity and may have used up a few of my lives with the big hairy scary animals..... I still do walking safaris to this day but have focused on various conservation projects around Africa including National park restorations and animal relocations etc. I will be adding all those experiences in due time, in an effort to get conscientious travelers to have an adventure rather than a Holliday and find a love for things you had not yet thought possible. This is me!
IMG_1064.JPG

I thought it pertinent to highlight a country fresh in my mind from my recent travels, because it needs the right kind of attention.
Madagascar is a myriad of colors, cultures and unequivical biodiversity.
Get out of the way Jeff.jpg

Its impossible to lump Madagascar with Africa because its not! being only 400km away from Africa you would think its people would be African and its animals would also be similar to what you would find on the plains of the Serengeti.
But the wonder of this island is that its nothing like what its supposed to be. the first inhabitants came from Indonesia and only later did Africans come to the island, this give a very unique character and language to the Malagasy people infused with wild and downright bizarre traditions and taboos or "faddy" as called in Malagasy.

_MG_5062.jpg

The people and culture alone are worth visiting Madagascar!! but as a conservationist and photographer it was the Flora and fauna that left me spellbound by the natural wonder and endless curiosity the creatures of the forrest presented.

The smaller majority of the islands inhabitants are truly fascinating and sometimes overshadow the main attraction of Lemurs. like this Satanic leaf tased gecko. no need to explain the name.

The Island is well know for its lemurs, of which there are 111 species and counting. the fossil evidence shows lemurs that where as big as Gorilla and then some exist today that are a small as a field mouse!

the debate is still ongoing but the excepted origin of lemurs is that of a floatation theory, meaning Galagos of Bushbaby's floated over on matts of vegetation in storms and sea currents. on arrival they found paradise and spread throughout the island filling ecological niches which changed them physically, which is why the diversity in size and habits is staggering!

_MG_4970.jpg

Over 80 % of Madagascars flora and fauna are found only on Madagascar this has often given rise to the island being called the 8th continent which is rightly so as nowhere els compares.

Madagascar is facing huge challenges from human pressure as the population is more than what the island can cope with.
The deforestation of primary rainforest has decimated some biodiversity hotspots that will take time if ever to recover.
The island needs concise travelers to change the tide of temporary gain from resources . tourism is changing Manny parts of Madagascar and keeping the last few natural refuges in tact but this may not always be the case. below is a picture of Isalo National park, one of the islands oldest parks. this fire raged for 3 days and was set by herdsmen wanting to send a message and to create grazing grounds for there "zebu" cattle. although strangly beautiful the destruction was severe.

_MG_6686.jpg

The response from the neighboring village was amazing to witness and renewed my belief in getting Locals to manage the wildlife. almost every able bodied villager came out to help douse the fire with whatever implements they had. this happened because the park is a direct line of income to the village and thy see benefit in preserving it and its attractions to people like me and you.around Africa.

Please don't hesitate to get in contact to find out more about Madagascar. its a destination that will stay with you forever.

This is just a short blog to see what response I get, im sure they will get more in depth as more people start to take interest, well I hope so.

Take care and try look at the little things more often.

below are a few more images from the last trip.

Getting up close to Lemurs at a rescue centre._MG_6602.jpg

Our last day on a magical island.
IMG_5041.JPG!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jeffsjungle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Madagascar would be a dream to visit and those lemurs are so cute. They have human like hands. I am very sad about the deforestation that takes place. Wish there were more people that understood how severely this will impact our earth.

Great post and deserves recognition. Keep up the good posts and welcome to steem it. Followed and up-voted

Thanks for your words! Madagascar has to be preserved!!!!

I enjoyed your post, I have been living three years in Madagascar, Toliara part and I love that country. I made a post about Vezo ethnie you can see in my blog. Did you go to Toliara?

Hi Terresco
thanks for the kind words ! no unfortunately idid not go to Toliara but will go have a look on my next trip.
Take care

Congratulations @jeffsjungle, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

After three months working in the field in Madagascar back in 2011 I returned to civilisation with a mild dose of typhoid and a craving for cheese. Go figure!
Always an inspiration to read other's travel blogs not just for inspiration of where I need to go next but a reminder to share some stories of my crazy adventures. Like the trip on the 'octopus' boat where we were dropped on an isolated beach in the dead of night and told to watch out for crocodiles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71456.82
ETH 3812.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46