Our decision became reality. -who are we

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

June 1st 2016

This is the day that our decision finally became a reality. We had packed up all of our "important" belongings and put them into a 10x10 storage unit. The rest of our stuff was sold on craigslist, placed on the street for free, or loaded up and brought to the dump in our boat. Yes, we didn't have a truck or anything so we loaded up our ski boat with all of our junk and towed it to the dump. Josh was packing the van and I was keeping our then 1 and 3 year old boys preoccupied while cleaning out the house.

Now, a little side note about my personality: I am a planner! I thrive with lists and and having a life plan. Josh is the complete opposite. He is a dreamer and is amazing at going with the flow of life and doesn't get nervous or anxious making decisions. Deciding to leave our home, get rid of our stuff, move into our van as a family was such an exciting unknown that it oddly didn't completely terrify me. I was excited to push my own limits and learn to go with the flow of life.

People would ask, "wait, so what are you guys doing?". The response was always, "Oh you know, just moving into our van, traveling, and then we aren't sure what is next.".

14560110_1212979362107029_6978553307959669781_o.jpg

We ended up traveling and living in our van for a month and then found an Airstream trailer to renovate and live in. I'm not going to write about that yet, but we will get there maybe in the next blog or two. In the meantime, thank you for welcoming me into your community. I hope our story will inspire someone to live life a little differently and to seek adventure.
25323939_10155946730102937_1582206966_n.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @la-vida... Looking forward to reading about your travels - or should probably call them adventures... Takes a certain kind of brave to do what y'all are doing - plus with little ones... Maybe a little crazy too - but all the best ones are... :)

"La Pura Vida" The Pure Life... Good luck and stay safe...

Thank you! I am looking forward to finally getting around to writing our stories out! Steemit seems like a great community.

I am 100% convinced You have made the best decision of your intire life, we did the same thing 5 years ago and we are happier, freer, wiser and richer for it :)

I shall be following and supporting your families journey here on steemit, you have come to the right place :)

Bless.

Thanks Mark! Josh was just showing me your amazing home! I'm excited to finally blog and share our story, and have a community to connect with!

#life
George Sand : There is only one happiness in life – to love and to be loved.

So true! thanks Ainal!

It's really inspiring your blog, I would like to experience the feeling of enjoying the beauty of nature. In my country, it is not an easy task, to practice sightseeing in Venezuela, too expensive.

Thank you, I would love to go see Venezuela one day!

Congratulations @la-vida! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

So great post and very nice blog too, I want to follow you😀

Thanks Heidi :)

Wooow amazing story can't wait to read more updates and posts from your lifestyle. Thanks for sharing it !

Thank you! I'm looking forward to being apart of the steemit community.

Hello and welcome @la-vida! I just ran into @joshuathomasgray’s blog and welcomed him aboard as well. So I say welcome to your beautiful family! 😊

I think it’s very brave and quite amazing what you all did. I’m sure it’s amazing being able to travel from place to place and explore the world! I also have young children ages 1, 4, 6 and 7...oh and one on the way!!!! So yes five kiddos will be running around our home :D.

I am a stay at home mom that homeschools and loves it!! We love the freedom and versatility to be able to reach our kids how we please. None of them have ever stepped foot into a public school and we tend to keep it that way. I also love photography and recently started a part time gig for my cousin...you can view some of the shots here in my latest post and there is also link in there to my first photography job.

I am apart of the @familyprotection movement that is spreading horrific truths about the CPS and other Child Services that are destroying families. If you have time you should check it out, the page is ran by @markwhittam and @canadian-coconut. I am a huge advocate for Natural Birthing rights and empowering women to be strong and know that they have choices.

So there’s a little about me. I am definitely like you and would tend to plan and make lists more than do things spontaneously. I get quite anxious at times if things aren’t lined up but of course everything is not perfect. I look forward to seeing more of your family and following along on your family adventures and filmmaking! So good to meet you :) Upped and Steemed your post so others can greet you. God Bless~

Thank you for the kind welcome!

Congrats on your soon to be 5th little one. That is really encouraging to hear that you love homeschooling. We love our local private school but are thinking of homeschooling possibly this next year (the start of kindergarten). We have just started to think about it more due to the fact that we love the flexibility it has. We want to be able to leave and travel on whim and know our children learn very well by experiences. So we will see what we end up doing.

I will have to check out what your involved with. I've heard some about this in our community.

Nice to meet you :D

You are very welcome. Thank you!! We’re excited about the new addition.

You would love the flexibility of homeschooling. It seems our children learn best through hands on experiences. It’s also good to know that if we want to hit the road I can teach while we travel...the possibilities are endless :) If you do decide to homeschool there is a huge community of homeschoolers on here that share their experiences and even the curriculums they choose. My friend @apanamamama has some really great posts about homeschooling and some of the tools she uses. It was really great to meet you. I’ll see you around! 😊

Oh thank you so much for the info! I will checkout your friend. Looking forward to getting to know you all better.

My pleasure ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67