First time in Bangkok - Backpacking on a budget - Photoblog

IMG_6609.JPG

When we travelled to Asia in 2013 the first destination was Bangkok. The city is like a hub to get to most other destinations in South-East Asia. You fly in and have a lot of options like going to the south island, going to the northern cities like Chang Mai or to take a night bus to Laos or Cambodia for example.

I didn´t plan too much before I got there. What I knew was that I would like to go to Koh Phangan next and that I wanted to make my money last as long as possible to get to see as much of Asia as possible. We arrived at nighttime and took a taxi from the airport to Khaosan Road, the famous backpacker destination.

P1070997.JPG

We searched for an accommodation and soon found a really cheap shithole. It was a small room with a fan and a shared bathroom. Cockroaches were also included in the price. But hey - it was cheap!

P1080001.JPG

P1080002.JPG

P1080003.JPG

P1080006.JPG

I´ve heard a lot about BKK before but was still surprised by everything. It is really as crazy as people say it is. Only place that is even more intense of the places I´ve been to, is Phnom Penh in Cambodia.

IMG_6626.JPG

IMG_6573.JPG

IMG_6576.JPG

IMG_6574.JPG

We ended up staying for a couple of nights before we went to Koh Phangan. Explored the city at daytime and partied hard at nighttime. If I´m completely honest - I absolutely hated it at first.
My lungs were hurting from the smog after only one night, the hangovers from the cheap Whiskey got worse every day and my stomach started to refuse the street food.

P1080031i.JPG

P1070996.JPG

P1080033i.JPG

I had to go to BKK 2 more times to get to other destinations and got to love it in the end. I will write about it another time.

Thank you for reading! ;-)

Sort:  

Always wanted to go to Bangkok!
Great post!
Upvoted! :)

Thank you for the post. It was interesting to read what you took in your suitcases? Did you have any problems on the route?

Got scammed a couple of times and food poisonings but no major problems...

Ohhh I love BKK.

Been there the first time in late 80's with no money and tons of cockroaches.

Make sure you do the tour on the river into the subburbs .... great pics!

Got my upvote for your next Chang

Must have been so much wilder in the 80´s!!

An ice cold Chang in the Thai heat is just so good init?!

Koh Samui and the other islands where already developed, but BBK and Kaosan was a wild area.....

Hope you enjoyed Bangkok :) I was there in January was really fun.
UpVoted :)!!!

Really hated it at first haha

Looking forward to your pictures of Bangkok!

That was the way I was the first couple of days. Was so scared to eat the food too so few days I was starving haha!!
Thank you look forward to your posts :)

This looks like a great adventure. I'm so jealous!

Thank you Susan! ;-)

I was in Bangkok 2 years ago. Most breathtaking city i have ever been.This City never left my mind. Next year i plan to visit BKK again ;)

Yeah a really crazy place. I prefer the islands and the north of Thailand though. ;-)

Great post with nice pics. Looks like a crazy place!

Thank you for reading! ;-)

one day I will go there , too ! thanks for sharing !

Hope you will! SE-Asia has some special places too see and a very unique vibe to it...

Congratulations @marcellus-wllace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59