When i learned to Sail - STORY TIME

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

What's up steemians today i want to tell you the time when i learned how to sail

A few years back i was obsessed with the sea, and i have a friend who is a member of a yatch club, so at that time we were talking and he told me that in a few days there was going to be a sailing course and it lasted 1 month (just weekends tho) so i inmediately said that i was going to join.

just to tell you a little bit about me, i live a coastal city on Venezuela called Maracaibo, and it's right next to Maracaibo's Lake hence the name (duh), just to add more info it's the biggest lake in latinamerica!

Diapositiva1.PNG
(photo by google maps)

So i joined the course with my brother, the first class was introductory, teaching us basic things about boats and knoths, but then the fun came, we were being taught how to sail on sunfish, a 1 person sailing boat, so we would take turns to use them because there were just 3 of them while the rest of the class was on a dinghy

f6fa7584ba25b4488169f71b84920ac8.jpg
Sunfish
(photo taken from pinterest)

I gotta tell you the first moment i tried sailing i was really scared to fall to the water or get hit by the boom (the boom is a horizontal pipe that is part of the sail) but by the end of the day i got hit by it a few times, and swallowed a few gallons of water haha, and not just me, everyone had the same luck

IMG_1147.JPG
(photo taken by me)

A few lessons later i was pretty decent on the water, when the fear goes away there's just fun, the way that the wind help you guide the boat, the sound of the water, the waves, the speed sensation, it's pure magic, you feel like an adventurer, i felt like i was link from the legend of zelda wind waker

another fun thing to do was cleaning day, so the water of the lake is a little bit contaminated with oil, and we had to clean the boats and ends (ropes) petrolleum stains with gasoline to remove them, sand paper them and apply soap and water, we had a blast, with music and with the water hose.
at the end of every class we went to the clubs restaurant order something to eat and stay to talk and play dominoes

IMG_0600.JPG

Cleaning day

IMG_0601.JPG

so i hope you guys enjoyed, if you want more content like this, please support me, byee!!

Sort:  

Really enjoyed your post.

Thank you, I put effort and time to make it

yes! another sailor on Steemit! thank you for sharing this story! i learned to sail on a 30' sailboat, but the small ones are much better to making sailing a second hand. There is much more to learn before I can see myself sailing solo in the ocean.

Wow 30' ?! To sail on one like that is like a dream to me, I imagine it was amazing , I would love to travel the Caribbean sea with a sailboat

I bought a sail boat, got a friend to join me to pick it up. Unfortunately there was no wind ... except for during some two hours. My friend was basically teaching me to sail during those two hours.

We sometimes had to wait for the strong wind to sail properly

Good post mate, It's so cool talking about Maracaibo's lake, one of the biggest lakes, and used to be one of the most beautiful, but people and polution are destroying it. I recommend you to use #spanish tag in order to keep in touch with Venezuelan people as well. I've left my vote dude, see u soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66739.81
ETH 3087.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73