Adventure #8 5K Run

in #adventure7 years ago

For my 8th adventure, I decided to run a 5K race. Mind you, I am not a runner, I hate to run, I have never run in a race, I didnt prepare, and I had no idea what to expect. Oh….and neither did my wife and kids who joined me!

This adventure was special for 2 reasons. First, it was my son Taylors 10th birthday and he was very excited about doing this to start his special day. Second, proceeds from the race benefited the Childrens Cancer Caring Center. This cause is near to our hearts as we ran this race in honor of my friends daughter, Bella Rodriguez, who is one of the most brave and strong little girls we know. You got this Bella! Were praying for you.

The race started early in the morning and left from Virginia Key in Key Biscayne. We were joined by nearly two thousand other runners who were ready to take on the challenge. After putting on our numbers, stretching a bit and having some Dunkin Donuts and Coffee for energy (LOL!) we lined up at the starting line and we were off!

There were runners of all experience levels, families and teams running the race. I even saw my friend Mike Alvarez, who despite riding in a Jeep and not running, joked about me not telling all of you that I ran the 5K since he witnessed me walking. (I love you Mike and I will take you up on the wingman offer soon!)

The course was very nice and the weather was perfect since it wasnt too hot. We finished the 5K in 50 minutes and felt very proud of what we had accomplished.

It looks like we been bitten by the running bug, so we also decided that we would be doing more of these kinds of events on a regular basis. Maybe by this same time next year well be ready for the 10K!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68775.79
ETH 3844.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66