BWCA: A Canoe, some supplies, and an epic adventure!

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

The Boundary Waters Canoe Area and Wilderness contains over a million acres of unspoiled forest and waterways you can travel through.

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o3_1280.jpg

Here's a New York Times Article for your reading pleasure:
https://www.nytimes.com/2016/10/23/travel/boundary-waters-minnesota-canada-into-the-wild.html

In August of 2016, we chose this place to take our family adventure vacation. I've never canoed in my life before this, and let me tell you, you fucking learn to do it real quick. I joked with my elderly clients at work the week before I left that I was paddling to Canadabut my boyfriend, daughter, and I paddled (and portaged) to fucking Canada!

Through 15 lakes, 16 portages, (approximately 620 some rods total) almost 43 miles and innumerable bug bites later, we made it out. 43 miles of canoeing is not a bad distance logged for n0obs. No fucking joke, one day we canoed for 8 hours straight.

Please read @ghostfish 's detailed Captain's log entries here:

Part 1: https://steemit.com/adventure/@ghostfish/boundary-waters-voyage-pt1

Part 2:https://steemit.com/adventure/@ghostfish/boundary-waters-voyage-pt2

Part 3: https://steemit.com/adventure/@ghostfish/boundary-waters-voyage-pt3

IMG_7639.JPG
What our car may have looked like, according to our daughter's doodle. haha.

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o1_1280.jpg
We pushed off of Seagull Lake and had a few sprinkles. We took the rainbow as a good omen for our trip. We had perfect weather the entire time!

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o2_1280.jpg
Seagull Lake, and sunset romance with @ghostfish. Photo by my bad-ass daughter (who paddled all 43 miles with us without a peep of complaint! Seriously, her perseverance never fails to impress me.)

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o4_1280.jpg
Alpine Lake

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o5_1280.jpg
Who knew that afternoon naps with the tent fly off could look so magical? Nothing but the warmth of the sun and the sound of birds and other critters to lull you to sleep.

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o6_1280.jpg
Eddy Falls was a favorite lunch spot. We sat and splashed under the falls and it was so beautiful.

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o9_1280.jpg
We entered Canada! Our strong arm and fearless leader, @ghostfish. Portaging a Canoe for miles is no easy feat. Especially when you're bushwhacking.

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o8_1280.jpg
I forgot which lake this was. I don't know. We hit 15 of them. LOL

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o7_1280.jpg
This tangled root system is so fucking trippy to me. Nature is amazing.

tumblr_oc9kkytKY71qdf107o10_1280.jpg
Back on Seagull Lake again to complete our loop. I was contemplating the potential of climbable crags up there. Seriously. There's a lot of untouched crags in the BDUBS.

The Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness is a pretty magical place and I hope we all can protect it for the generations to come. It is currently under threat from a shitty buyout of our politicians to start mining there. I'm so fucking tired of big money interests threatening to pollute our public lands.

Please please PLEASE help by donating:
https://www.savetheboundarywaters.org/donate

A doodle of what I may have looked like after our trip:
IMG_7640.JPG

Sort:  

What a wonderful trip! This post actually inspired me to change my weekend plans (attending the Banff Film Festival) to going to Joshua Tree and getting my ass outside! I want a nap in a tent!!!!

I remember wondering which side of the markers was Canada and catching my limit in Walleye in the rapids within an hour.

Excellent! I love exploring Northern Minnesota and would love to plan a BWCA canoe trip. I'm happy to find another Steemian in my area and hope to meet some of ya'll at a local Steemit meet-up. In the meantime I'll follow you here and look forward to more of your adventures :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66912.93
ETH 3115.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78