January ProgBlog #3: dark alleyways

in #aer4 years ago

Last night was an exercise in frustration. There was a bunch of chores to finish up, and then all I wanted to do was some art and to hopefully get the progblog knocked out before it got too late.

Instead of spending a couple of hours being able to work solidly after putting youngest to bed (the two bigs had gone off on yet another sleepover), I ended up fiddling around with the material for Zara's eyes in an attempt to make them reflective for maybe half an hour to an hour, and then the rest of the time trying to recover/work with one crash that happened during a test render (which is extremely inconvenient given this is what I got the rig for but sadly not that unusual) and a weird drama where the keyboard and mouse stopped being useful (both mouse and stylus would move the cursor but clicks were ignored, and all input keyboard was ignored except for switching terminals, and then it would work perfectly fine in another terminal) that resulted in me downing tools for the night (angrily hard shutting down the rig and leaving it off overnight which I don't recall ever doing before).

Everything was operational again this following morning when I turned it back on (so far).

What I wanted was reflective eyes but I'm apparently too dumb to figure that out. I initially tried a thing with multiple gloss nodes and add shaders, then a principled bsdf node with metallic cranked right up, both of which looked really cool if you looked at it from straight on with a bright light shining directly at it and completely failed in low light. So I cheated and went with an emission node which I'll have animate the strength of depending on when the reflection is needed.

I'm seriously loving that eye procedural thing more and more. Does such a good job even at alpha version not ready yet.

I'd finished modelling the arm socks before working on the eyes and having everything crashing and started trying to make a texture that will look kind of fabricky. In the preview it looks like it might be the start of a somewhat decent leather texture. In the render it looks like felt.

Neither of which I want for arm socks. That looks like it's going to be most of my project for today possibly with some breaks for head feathers, goggles and if I'm feeling particularly sadomasochistic, going back and retopo'ing Red for the umpteenth time.

Seeing as I seem to be able to manage alphas in this version of Blender much better than the last one I may also see if I can get good looking polygon feathers this time round.

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) It can be one of your characters (including ones you make up on the spot for this XD) or a self insert. There's a bunch of different human types to choose from, and pets/other animals are also welcome.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | steemartists

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

At least you didn't smash the rig up in a rage :0)

That would be incredibly counterproductive XD

Most of my raging is done internally so I get headaches a lot

I have a love/hate relationship with this thing XD more love than hate but I really hate it when I have to fix things. Least with this one I can fix things but I would much rather it was more like my Macs and Just WorkedTM XD

There is something to be said for the whole just working thing.

It's quite satisfyingly to smash shit up sometimes. Although the next day tends to be painful, lol

It can be, though I still try not to smash things I need ;D

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 11500 replies. Your next target is to reach 12000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!


ibt
Congrats! on your upvotes from the IBT Community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97