June ProgBlog #2

in #aer6 years ago

I was actually intending to do this on Friday, but I was also setting up some new backup drives (my original drive was appropriated) and needed to copy the old backup from my computer (where it's currently taking up a HELL of a lot of space!) and I found out the hard way that I can't use 3d Coat and have big copy operations going at the same time because it makes my computer run out of memory.

Above is ram and swap usage with 3dC open. Think it might have something to do with the 16k uv map I'm using. I have 32Gb of ram. I should probably get more.

So anyway I finally finished retopo (faster than the previous retopo) though I'm not sure how well the outer wing membranes are going to deform, hoping everything will be okay with the subd modifier cranked up. We're apparently at 36216 polys so Blender should theoretically have an easier time with it. Meantime as it turns out I don't hate uv mapping as much as I have previously, maybe because 3dC does it reasonably well and has very useful previews, and I kind of understand how it works now.

Now a problem I had was not being able to figure out how to get my baked maps back on there (I'm reasonably certain I baked the last batch of textures because I was experimenting with something else) but because of how I did this retopo I need to redo the displacement maps anyway so fine whatever I'll start again with a new paint object, at least 3dC kindly remembers my layers which makes things a lot easier!

Major issue here, because my ram usage is so high using the fill bucket crashes 3dC. Good thing I'm used to painting everything by hand (which I do in Krita even though gmic filters and fill bucket would drop flats a lot quicker) even if it takes longer.

It's slightly laggy but we'll get there. Due to 3d withdrawals I'll probably be further neglecting my poor request queuers and selfishly doing my own thing til I'm recentred again. Sorry! :S

I still haven't managed to start the @symphonyofechoes header but I'm going to start laying it out in the hope that will trigger the rest of it to appear.

I ran some sketches past @f3nix for their avatar, and of the three the idea of the tinkerer was favoured so I'll see what I can do with that (it's going to involve many gears and trinkets and I will probably have a great time up to the point where I'm shading XD).

I probably won't make the zoom lenses that excessive either, I got slightly carried away with the sketch.

Also actually finished @bengy's upgoats a few days ago and could probably start on the other three upgoat orders, as per usual it's the name that's holding me up.

I found out I could draw while the big copy operation was in progress, and also that I've done nothing but sketchies all year (aaargh!) so decided to illustrate a scene out of the scripts. The initial drawing is a Patreon-only post, but I'll post updates on that over the next few progblogs.

This post also appears on my blog.

Stuff to do

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) It can be one of your characters (including ones you make up on the spot for this XD) or a self insert. There's a bunch of different human types to choose from, and pets/other animals are also welcome.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

If you want to natter I usually haunt both the #teamaustralia channels (yes there's two, the PAL one and one for Aus/NZ), Be Awesome, and hang with the @steemartists on the server with the same name on Discord with a bunch of awesome people :D

sig

-={ patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Love the sketches, looking a bit steam punk? Did I read that my up goats are ready???

Yeh steampunk was what was asked for, I tend to be super light on details with sketchies. The final will have a bit more detail.

The goats themselves are ready, I'm just trying to work out how to write your name. The names always take the longest, like with my characters if they're not right it won't work XD

goatsig

I didn't understand any of it, but you must have incredible patience to do all that stuff! :)

I don't believe you didn't understand any of it, maybe the 3d stuff might have been a bit too lingo-y XD

Patience only required for the bits I don't really like doing ;D

goatsig

I get that about patience, with some of the grind I have to do researching family tree stuff. Switching mental gears is sometimes as good as a holiday, lol.

Nice sketches Fyn! I like all three of them, and it's really cool that you actually draw 3 for f3nix :O! I like the second one the most, I think, most stylish ^_^.

Thanks scrawlinator ^_^

I kind of automatically went into commission mode on this one, I usually do three initial sketches for anything above a sketchy XD I had a bit too much fun with the second pose I think. The tinkerer was favoured as seems the primary use will be an avatar, and I'm just better at action shots (no matter how muted the action is XD).

goatsig

Congratulation ! #teamaustralia
Your Post on steemit!

I am @Rihannas!
I Support You on Steemit. Your Post is Good .

Are you cogniscient? Spamming the same comment on multiple posts is bad form.

goatsig

32 GB of RAM seems insane to me, but then again, that may be the norm nowadays. I am notorious for being very behind on hardware upgrades. I often get bogged down because I run out of memory (running on 8GB RAM).

@fenix's avatar looks so snazzy! I love the detail you put into it! Can't wait to see it filled out with color :D

Well what actually happened is that I'm an idiot and managed to forget what a uv map is even though I remembered how to make them XD So I just made it waaaayyyyyyyyy too big. Using an 8k map now and it's much more managable.

goatsig

ps thanks ^_^ need to develop it a little more, I kind of stalled really hard on the request queue again :S

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66539.60
ETH 3199.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08