May ProgBlog #1

in #aer6 years ago

Blender's viewport is massively outdated and exceedingly laggy. This has made trying to correct the weights on the ~300k poly model of Red agonisingly painful and take way, way longer than it should be. I still have plans to do a proxy for animating with, but that doesn't remove the need for the actual model to work. Apparently this will be fixed and updated later this year and from the sounds of the people who are braving it in its current bug-infested state, it will be wonderful. I'm not waiting around for it, I'll just let it catch up to me which is highly likely.

So in the meantime I've backtracked and trying an experiment involving some different retopo (mostly involving trying to overcome my obsession over everything needing to be close to a square, and basically making sure the parts that move a lot or twist twist are squares so they'll deform nicely and that doesn't move or doesn't move much can be a rectangle or absolute worst case scenario a triangle and hope.

I used ptex to texture the last version because it was so much easier than setting up the stupid UV maps. This time I'm going to set up the stupid uv maps manually. I have successfully used the auto uv maps on my vaporeon model previously, but for whatever reason it was struggling with this one. Even though the polyflow is slightly different on this one I think I'll just do it manually rather than trying the auto one again, and hope I don't have weird problems where the maps were overlapping even though the islands weren't.

I think I also went a bit heavy on the polys when retopo-ing before because when I went to the paint room everything looked sharp and jaggy. I've got a bit better understanding of how 3dc and Blender can work together now so I'm going to try and ignore that while I'm texturing and then use Blender's smooth to make it look nice, and subD modifier if I need to.

This is still looking a little bit heavy but my excuse is he's a major character and I'm sticking with it. I'll go a lot lighter on the background characters and probably somewhere midway with the ones I'm making for other people.

I hate doing mouth insides. I'm wondering if I need to make everything bigger again. This is already nearly 1km tall in Blender x_x

I'm still working through the todo list, I still need to work out how big the stupid headers are supposed to be, sorry @symphonyofechoes :S Meantime I have this pattern going for @sayee and am just trying to work out how to do the name.

I'm also making some fitmon for @aussieninja's Movement May thing, but I'm so behind on that it's not even funny. All it took was one day burnout (no the fitmon didn't cause the burnout, the burning the midnight candle at both ends caused the burnout). You'd think I would have learned to avoid them by now but yeh they're still a part of my idiot cycles.

One day when I'm making enough off Patreon and steem (and possibly Akasha) for JJ to retire it won't be a problem.

This post also appears on my blog.

Stuff to do

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) It can be one of your characters (including ones you make up on the spot for this XD) or a self insert. There's a bunch of different human types to choose from, and pets/other animals are also welcome.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

If you want to natter I usually haunt both the #teamaustralia channels (yes there's two, the PAL one and a South Pacific one for Aus/NZ), Be Awesome, and hang with the @steemartists on the server with the same name on Discord with a bunch of awesome people :D

sig

-={ commission info | patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

This guy's creation looks super complicated and technical. I am actually quite excited to see the final result, will you animate him when you are done with his features?

Keep on it, ryry!!! You're doing great.

-upvoted-

He's probably one of my favourite characters (though I do have soft spots for all of them XD) but he's driving me insane with all the rework atm XD

Yep he's part of my animation project. I am going to be so stoked when I finally get around to that as that's what I really want to get around to!

Thanks! XD

goatsig

Dearest Ryi, please don't burnout... we want you safe and it's super bad for the environment.



Although, I'm ever so slightly amused at the irony of fitmons causing unhealth in their creator...

This top dude though is hardcore... I can't even comprehend the attention to detail it must take to create something like this... you are more patient then I could ever hope to be.

As I said, it's not the fitmons that did it, it's a recurring problem XD I often get feelings of not having done enough work so despite all logic and circumstance I'll stay up late and get up early to try to get more done around the other stuff I also do, and I'll get plenty of warnings that I'm going to crash and burn, but I'll push it anyway til I do. Then I'm useless for about 24hrs and after that I'm good to do it all over again XD

Thanks, I need so much more work in this particular area, I'm so bad at it x_x

goatsig

Wow!! You are super talented Ryi!! This character is looking awesome!

Thanks :D Hopefully I can actually get him to an animatable stage this time!

goatsig

I'm sure you'll get there eventually. There must be a lot of hours in this guy!!

I have no idea what you are writing about, but the end result (well, the intermediate stage) looks pretty amazing!

Ach, wrong account fail.... Anyway, that was me...

LoL oops XD I'm just blathering about 3d like I know what I'm talking about again, no biggie :D Thanks ^_^

goatsig

I did study Theoretical Physics, so I understand the 3 dimensions part... after that, lost...

Looking good!

Thanks! Hopefully this one works out better than I think it will XD

goatsig

Thanks a lot for your patience. Love you

No, thank you for your patience :D It's not too far off done, still trying to work out some nice writing for your name :)

goatsig

Ach! Sorry to miss this update, mate. Life got in the way and it held me back by a couple of days. Playing catch up right now.

No worries, stuff happens. I figured you'd be setting up and stuff, that can take a lot of ages :)

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89