You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Congratulations DR Congo! Today you reached 42 days since the last case of Ebola, signaling the end of the outbreak

in #africa6 years ago

That is good news. Feel guilty I lost track of the latest Ebola outbreak. I love that effective altruism--both parts, being altruistic and being effective :)

Sort:  

No need to feel guilty, thats the whole point of public health, when it's going well it's one less thing to worry about in life!

Yes it was very much a penny drop moment when I heard the term for the first time. It gave a label to so many things I'd been thinking about, its a way of being skeptical of charities but not cynical (such a hard line to walk!). This ted talk by a the philosopher Peter Singer is great if you'd like to learn and think more about the term.

Thank you for the reference. I will listen to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73