You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Congratulations DR Congo! Today you reached 42 days since the last case of Ebola, signaling the end of the outbreak

in #africa6 years ago

Thanks for delivering this good news. I'm happy you take a special interest in tropical diseases, and I hope you find a sense of fulfilment in making others happy.

I went through your previous posts to find the "snappy" name of the ebola vaccine-rVSV-ZEBOV. Do you know what phase of the clinical trial the drug is currently in?

Also do well to let me know when it gets a less snappy name....lol.

A big thanks for sponsoring me into SBI.

Sort:  

I'm guessing the vaccine is in phase 4 (sort of). It's a little weird with this one. Most of the early work was done around 20 years ago, when the 2014/15 pandemic hit they went into trialling it. It was used extensively in this outbreak as a control stratagem, my guess is that will continue to be the way it's used, I'd be surprised if it ended up being a stranded vaccine like measles.

No problem, its a win/win!

I guess we'll have to wait another 10 to 20 years...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81