You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I AM AN AFRICAN CHILD... THEY SAY

in #africa7 years ago (edited)

I am impressed! And thank you for the kind dedication! When a guy in a country so far away from me uses words I have to look up in a dictionary, ("sagacious") I know I have befriended someone very smart, indeed! :D

"I can count with one hand the kids in my school that can speak our mother tongue. We are very few; and you might get punished for it."

THIS REALLY BOTHERS ME! I don't understand why you might be punished for what I can only call love of your nation, and it's history.

Resteemed!

Sort:  

Thank you @sircork for the HUGE compliments. Truly, I know words (Read that with the most Trumpy possible cadence). 😂😂

Really, it's a big cultural decay we are dealing with. Like my friend puts it, "the [legacy] of the private school system (and indeed contemporary lifestyles in Africa) is to beat the Africaness out of you." The archetypical image of a modern African social elite is one who speaks English with some fusion of American accents, wears foreign designers, have their kids school abroad (or have as little contact as possible with their environment in a case where the parents can't afford schooling abroad--and the private schools provide that haven of illusion). The extreme ones bleach their skins. Down here the term "local" is denigrating, and a reference to things to be avoided. Our languages are gradually getting endangered and we are not bothered.

It's crazy out here for us the woke minority. 😞😞

You have the best words. Yuge words!

It is crazy for those of us that are woke AF.

I am in a place where I am mixed in my emotions. I have a strong dislike for the "state" (government, rulers) but a strong attachment to my OWN country (patriotism, pride, love of the land and it's own natural beauty and vibrant internal history) and it makes for an uneasy mix sometimes.

It is up to us man, to retain the best parts of the past for our respective cultures and combat the homogenization of the future.

On the other hand, there are some good outcomes. Would either of us be here now, having this conversation together, if there were not?

Man I just read your post outloud to a friend in my office, and STUNNED her with your words. She said to let you know how elegant and eloquent your writing was and the story it tells. When she gets back to her own devices, she will be following you too! Keep an eye out for @alphaczarina. She's got some interesting stories to tell of her own.

Oh wow. That's interesting. I owe you a lot of gratitude. I will go right to her blog and bury my big head there 😊. Steemit rocks

She's brand new. I'm not sure she has made any posts yet, but she told me of one she has written and is preparing to post about lessons from Shakespeare that we can use today that sounded very promising. We have to stay tuned to see what she produces!

I noticed that. I followed her though. Tell her I look forward to that post 😉😉

Copy that, captain. Transmission will be resteemed.

Ahoy there! 👮

Im blushing right now for my friend @misterakpan
This community is really nice.

😂 Trust me you need to be in the PALnet Discord group if you aren't. The smartest folks are there 😎
https://discord.gg/s86ZRr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67341.94
ETH 3779.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69