You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Norman the Psychotic AI and my love for the Normal Curve

in #ai6 years ago

As I was reading this, my mind kept going back to B.F. Skinner and the Skinner Box. I remember his daughter spent a good part of her first to years in a "controlled" environment. Just looked it up again.
As for AI, the potential for creating a "pure" personality, one unencumbered with subtlety or conflict does have sinister implications. Imagine being able to move forward without doubt. Imagine the devastating efficiency of such a machine.
Fascinating blog.

Sort:  

That Skinner box doesn't sound too bad actually. I think it's funny that a lot of the greatest experiments in psychology would have never passed ethics regulations today. Definitely some potential for psychological damage in the Milgram obedience experiments!
AI has some scary possibilities, people really aren't giving it enough attention. The Norman experiment will help with that a little.

Found the original article, by Skinner, describing his "air crib" (you can see once I get an idea I don't let it go--an irritating trait I admit). While his crib sounds perfectly reasonable and even conducive to good health, I have a problem with its emotionally insulating aspect. Skinner explains that the crib offers parents a buffer--if a baby is crying and no reasonable cause for distress can be discovered, then why should people have to suffer and listen to it. He describes how landlords might drop their "no babies" policy because of the insulating quality of a box.
I raised two kids. I wasn't a great mother, but if my baby cried and I didn't know why, holding was in order. Walking, holding, the reassurance of touch and presence were important, I thought. Midnight rides in a car were often effective. Baby shouldn't be left alone with distress. Of course that's an irrational (emotional) prejudice. On the other hand, I think the crib offers real advantages when it comes to the issue of suffocation. Bedding is dangerous. So...on the whole, maybe the crib but pick up the kid when distress is apparent. Anyway, the article is an interesting glimpse into the past and into the mind of a very brilliant and influential psychologist.

You know a scientist really believes in their theories when they start to apply it to their kids. I think his crib probably did have a lot of good qualities, but it got associated with doing experiments on the baby!

I think Skinner had a bit of an ego. He was brilliant. And yes, he really did believe in his theory--all of his theories. His daughter's not complaining, so...as you say, the "air crib" had some good qualities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62