You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Man = Ethics = AI

in #ai5 years ago

I typically relate ethics to agency (a rock has no agency, so no ethics). The question is, does AI have agency?
Without getting too deep into it, I don't think AI has agency but it's creators and deployers do.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Dear @eturnerx

I strongly agree at some point but as you define the human behavior that somehow AI copies from humans, somehow many people have ethics and I know and I can say it with property that many humans who intervened in the creation of AI. They also have ethics.

Greetings friend.

My position is even stronger than AI copying from humans. AI cannot act without humans granting them the ability. Therefore, AIs have no agency and thus no ethics. The ethics, and the responsibility for the actions of the AI, sit squarely on those that give the AI the ability to act. Those are variously, the AI creators and the AI deployers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87