Online Wardrounds Ep 17 featuring @ogochukwu

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

AIR-CLINIC ROCKS! It’s good to be back with another interesting episode of Online Ward rounds, a special programme for everyone to talk about their health and share knowledge.

Screenshot_2018-05-26-16-54-18.png

We are sure you had a great time during the Last episode. For those that missed the show, here is a link.


ATTENDANCE REGISTER (LAST WEEK).

These are the members that graced our grand rounds last week:
@hafiz34
@jason04
@Dono
@Elixbaba
@Muzee1
@rksumanthraju
@oluwambe
@drigweeu
@mamamyanmar
@Olusolaemmanuel
@mosunomotunde
@mopelola (our special guest)

You all made our last episode a success. We appreciate your contributions.

@air-clinic specially appreciates @mopelola

Thank you for honoring our invite. It was great having you on the show. We also learned from you.


Case 1 Highlight

The Diagnosis of this was Acute Bacterial Conjunctivitis


Case 2 Highlight

The Diagnosis for this was bronchial carcinoma


FOR THIS WEEK, HERE ARE THE CASES FOR YOU TO ATTEMPT.

Case 1

A 68-year-old lady was rushed into the accident and emergency unit accompanied by her granddaughter, she is too weak to talk but rose her granddaughter tries to recap what happened earlier.

'Granny has not been feeling well this week' she said, she managed to chat with me today, we were getting along quite well, when she suddenly excused herself to use the bathroom.

Shortly after going to the bathroom, I heard a large scream for help from the bathroom and I ran down there only to find that granny was vomiting blood, that was when I dialed 911.

  • What do you think is Rose granny's medical problem (diagnosis)?
  • If you were a doctor, how would you solve the problem?
  • What lessons have you learned from this story?

Case 2

Mr. Charles is a 35-year-old workaholic, he works around the clock in order to make ends meet for his family. He does not have time to go for check-ups.

Today, After taking a shower in order to meet up an early morning appointment, he notices that one half of his face was drooping! He also remembered that his wife complained about his voice the previous night, she said it wasn’t clear as before!

Charles decides to stop by and see a doctor and find out what is really going on

  • What do you think is Mr. Charles’ medical problem (diagnosis)?
  • If you were a doctor, how would you handle his case?
  • What lessons have you learned from his story?

Attempt the cases as much as you can...


BENEFITS OF SMSI

  • As the name implies this is to assist everyone on their health journey.

  • Support will be in the form of community of mutual interests.

  • Qualification verification to improve the quality of healthcare.

  • Upvote, AIRCOIN and post-curation for verified members.

  • Get part of the rewards for participating in Online Ward rounds.

  • Engaging discussions will be held intermittently to listen to our individual journey on the path of health.

  • Problem-solving and family bonding.


INTERVIEW SEGMENT

For this week’s TETE-A-TETE segment, meet our guest... - @ogochukwu

Tell us about yourself

My names are Ogochukwu Obiajulu Onyema. I am from the eastern part of Nigeria, Enugu to be precise. I am a Final year Student UNEC, I am studying Banking and Finance.

I got introduced into the Blockchain world on January 17th, 2017 via Steemit and I have been active in the Blockchain community ever since.

My Interests are primary on Online branding for both persons and businesses. I also have a huge interest in User Interface design (UI) and User Experience (UX).


Why do you love @air-clinic?

We are at that point in our lives where technology is playing a huge role in how we live and Interact. Air Clinic is a project I believe that will solve a lot of issues for health the Internet could not solve.

Health care is very expensive in most areas of the world, but I believe that with tokenization there will be a fluid movement of funds from where it is abundant to a place that it is largely needed. One of the reasons people don't give to charity is due to lack of trust.

There are rich people out there who don't give to charity because they don't know where the money is going to. But with the transparency that the Blockchain offers, people would be more comfortable in committing funds to projects.

And when they also see that there is a huge possibility in gaining from the funds they provide, they will be willing to give more.


High and low point on steemit

I don't really have a direct answer to this questions. I believe that high points are a reward for the things we do during our low points. We as Humans tend to get comfortable during our high times.

We rest on our oars and stop working on reaching the next level. I believe that low points are actually a blessing in disguise because it forces you to think.


How do you balance your steemit life and real life

I don't believe that our work life should interfere with our real Life. I believe in this saying:

''Do what you love and you will never have to work a day in your life"

When you do what you love then there will be no need for you to balance anything. So anything that I do online both on Steemit or any other platform, that’s a reflection of who I am and what I live for.


Motivation to study your career.

I actually don't like the University structure or even my course of study. I just entered school because that was a societal norm.

Also, I never had plans to work the conventional way since day one. So I am very glad that the Internet gives you the opportunity to build your personal brand as your desire.


Challenges/survival story in your specialty

I can go on and on but I will keep this brief.I have had an interest in building a career for myself in the online space as far back as 2011. I knew that I was meant to build some kind of Career online, but I did not know how to get along with it.

I had the constraint of funds. I wanted to set up a blog then, but I did not have the funds to do so.

I also did not have a Laptop so I could not open a free blog on Blogger. However, my predicament did not stop my learning process. I had a little Nokia 6220 then, so I used it for researching online.

I read up all I could about blogging and how to build a personal brand online between 2011 and 2016. And even though I did not have a clear path of how I could build my online portfolio I continued learning.

I also watched lots of Hollywood movies between 2013 and 2016, I was well attuned with the foreign culture. I also made it a point of Importance to learn where ever I found myself, both online and offline.

I was one of those people who spent almost all my time on 2go competing in the Trivia room.

I am also a Bookworm. I spent a lot of time reading in my formative teen years, coupled with the fact that I was also indoors so I had all the time to devour books.

My lucky break came when I got admission into UNEC, the school made it compulsory that all first-year students must get a Laptop, failure to do so means that you would have to forfeit your admission.

And even though that there were no funds for the Laptop, my family had to look for the Money and I ended up having a Laptop. I was among the last batch so I got the Laptop late 2016.

I had a Laptop, but I was still broke. I did not have the Money I needed to open an online portfolio for myself, So I used the Laptop for most research and movies.

My School has a Wifi program, so as far as you are a student you were privy to an Internet connection and the Wifi fees was added to our School fees.

So I had a constant Internet connection to do all I wanted online.

Fast forward to 17th January, I had been hearing about Cryptocurrency and I decided to research about it. I made a Google search and I saw an article explaining how to spend Cryptocurrency. I did not have any to spend, but I clicked on the article anyway.

Steemit was the first thing on the article, they talked about buying Steem and powering up your Steemit account. I got Intrigued and followed the link to Steemit and signed up.

I already knew everything about running a blog, so I had no problem setting up and building my brand.

I grew rapidly on Steemit in comparison to those who joined at the same time with me and this was due to the knowledge base I had gathered.

The journey has been good so far, as I had learned a lot and also made a lot of wonderful connections.


Final words

I will just encourage everyone to do all they can to provide value to others. No matter what you are chasing in this life, you will always get it as long as you provide value to others.


SHOUTOUT SEGMENT (To Previous Interviewees)!

@Zoneboy, @Endopediatria, @Elvigia, @Oluwambe, @Bcrafts, @Evarich, @iamchijamz, @donnest., @wordswithhoney, @desmoniac, @bookoons, @gee1, @muhammadalikatu, @mopelola

Thank you for joining us on previous episodes of Online WARDROUNDS.


This article was compiled by @antigenx for @air-clinic!


Air-Clinic App has been successfully launched and you can earn AIRCOIN while you learn and share your ideas on health.

Visit our website https://myairclinic.com to download app!

You could also join us on discord to interact well with others.

Sort:  

Hello @air-clinic. Well done on the good job you're doing. The project supports health lovers on the platform.
You may reply with a link to your discord channel so that others who are interested (I esp) could join.

I'd attempt the case studies.

CASE 1:
i. More information is needed to infer a diagnosis. From the information given by the granddaughter, she could probably be suffering from GIT ulceration and she may also be anaemic. It could be any associated gastric cancer or scaring of internal organs.

ii. "If I were a doctor"... I'll try to stabilise the woman with parenteral electrolytes, check her vital signs and get some tests done esp full blood count. Tests to rule out gastric ulcer, GERD and probable scans to know if there are scars or anomalies in the internal organs.

iii. Lessons learnt: Being healthy does not totally mean the absence of sickness. Periodic checkups are important especially in the elderly. The granddaughter did the right thing by calling 911 in an emergency.

CASE 2.
i. Mr Charles is probably suffering from symptoms of an impending stroke.

ii. "If I were a doctor"...I'll check his vital signs, ascertain if his blood pressure, lipid profile, blood glucose and heart are in normal conditions. I hope he has enough money for a brain imaging test. I'll tell him he did a good job by reporting to the hospital, counselling him on the need for regular medical checkups, to avoid stress and importantly, lifestyle and diet modifications. He's definitely going to be placed on bed rest. I'll do well to place him on a blood thinner and treat according to results obtained from tests.

iii. This case highlights the need for regular medical checkups, adequate rest, and how life-saving reporting to the hospital when one notices unusual changes can be.

I hope they get better.

Hello @getencored, glad to read from you.

Our discord link is https://discord.gg/PAhqgCF

I like the step-wise method you used to approach the cases. Its very clinical i must say. You also highlighted some interesting lessons for the public.

Being healthy does not totally mean the absence of sickness. Periodic checkups are important especially in the elderly

In addition to the discord invite, i am inviting you to download the air-clinic app on playstore, its a fully loaded health app i must say.

See you on the app.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=air.clinic.android

Thanks for your kind words.

Thanks for the feature @air-clinic. I feel honored and I am excited to be in the greater ecosystem of this project.

I made this comment in the website but don't know how it was removed. I can't put same comment there now. So putting the comment here:


First case:
It is difficult to reach the diagnosis following a single episode of blood vomiting due to acute upper gastrointestinal bleeding which is medically known as hematemesis, without knowing prior medical history or examining the patient. But we can think about some differential diagnosis. According to the frequency rate of hematemesis, most important diagnosis is bleeding peptic ulcer. Gastric erosion is second diagnosis. Both of the cases, use of NSAIDs and ingestion of alcohol are considered as causative factor. We need to enquire about it. If Rose’s grandmother is suffering from any liver disease manifested by jaundice, ascites (collection of excess fluid in abdominal cavity), enlargement of liver and spleen etc. rupture of esophageal varices is a fearing diagnosis here. Considering her age, cancer of stomach or esophagus might be a cause. Or, simply, due to “not feeling well this week”, if she did severe retching (try to vomit up but can’t), this type of blood vomiting may happen due to tear in the lower end of food passage (Mallory-Weiss tear). The last is not usually dangerous one, and self-limiting.
Regarding management, a patient with hematemesis should always be treated in a specialized unit of a hospital. So take grandmother to the nearest health facility ASAP. Doctor will assess the patient clinically, and resuscitate. Putting a large-bore cannula should be the first step. Actions have to be taken according to the ongoing bleeding status (stopped or still bleeding) and effects of the bleeding. If the patient is cold and sweating and agitated, these are not good signs.


Second case:
One sided facial nerve palsy (Bell’s palsy). He is also having dysarthria (poorly articulated or slurred speech). These may be single, isolated nerve problem along with problems in the muscle of speech. But these may be initial signs of cerebrovascular accident (CVA) or stroke. He should be examined by a doctor (physical examination is sufficient enough for the diagnosis of Bell’s palsy). Investigations should be done to find out the risk factors (Hypertension, diabetes, dyslipidemia etc.). Imaging of brain should be done to confirm stroke or CVA.

@hafiz34, i love the way you arrived at your diagnosis in both cases in layman terms, i agree with you that the history provided in the first cases wasnt sufficient , it was intentional. your differential diagnosis are in order and self explanatory.

Thanks for your weekly clinical input to the online wardround segment of @air-clinic!

Thanks for the complement. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00