The Young Shall Grow Old & Die. (#air-clinic)

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

A story about me and my dad

IMG_20180131_160754_365.jpg

He is 75 years old, I see myself as a reflection of him.

In recent years I watched him suffer so much with his health record of diabetes and hypertension, at best his condition is being managed to forestall any catastrophic event.

I got home one day to see my dad on the floor in his room, I haven't seen him that way before and this scared me because the whole thing was real and he wasn't responding, I didn't need to confirm much so I called for help, he was taken to the hospital.
At the hospital, I sat next to him day and night watching him for the period he was there.

7days later when he was able to communicate and walk again, he was discharged.

The seizure he suffered deprived him of the ability to get hold of himself. I remember serving him some tea and water one time and he just kept shattering the cup as he dropped it to the floor, I didn't understand what he was going through and as such, I was infuriated. Then something happened to me that changed the way I viewed things for good.
One night I went to school to read for a test and I was to stay through the night, so I decided to take a short nap on a bench, after about an hour of sleep I got up to read but discovered my hand had completely gone numb, I had slept in a bad posture, I couldn't get hold of my pen to write or lift my hand, I just kept dropping anything I held. Then it struck me that this was exactly what my dad was going through.

Since then I have loved, cared and respect him no matter how bad his health status is because someday I will just be as old as he is.

I knew he had embraced his fate when he told me;

"All deaths are certain but when and how we all go isn't us to decide"

Word count: 344
Sponsors: @air-clinic
DQmbcN9aQAd51Cp89Ar6ixQjbTr5vJJEi3MfHFXe7fuZBTr_1680x8400.png
Join Airclinic on discord https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

I can't believed that really... your father age about 75 years? (the above photo). He is looking like yours elder brother (ha..ha..lol). Yes if we served our aged parents it would be reflect through our children. Parents are our real Hero before we learn from society and school.

I am hugging you behalf of #air-clinic and # hug-challenge of @nairadaddy

Spoken well my friend. Thank you for your wonderful comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71