Air Clinic Writing Contest- - Mosquitoes and the African Man

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)


My Entry 

Have you ever been to Africa before or have you not?

Oh gosh if you haven't, I bet you're missing a lot. You're missing our good foods, green pastures and all.

But, the only part where I don't get to like is dealing with mosquitoes.

Oh No, They suck!

Another bad news is that aside listening to their annoying noise (i can't describe. ) which can make you slap yourself hard on the neck without killing it, they can make you sick. The female ones precisely called the Anopheles mosquito may carry plasmodium parasites and in turn cause Malaria.

About last year, I received a call from my mom saying that my aunt which stays in a remote part of the village was sick with malaria and hospitalized.

She's going to be fine, after all its just malaria...I murmured.

But no, malaria wasn't a disease to be called 'just' or like a cough to be taken likely. I  suspended my school works and had to visit her in the hospital.

 When I arrived there, I couldn't hold back the tears.

Oh malaria, you're not friend to anyone my heart echoed.

My aunty who was usually refered to as Orobo(fat person) was now skinny and pale.

I was told the malaria had become a  severe one because she refused sleeping under her mosquito net in her home and she complained it was too hot and never took her drugs.

 Poor Aunty Maria... I exclaimed. 

She kept shivering and promised to always take her drugs and do all the needful if the sickness ever left her this last time.  She complained of headaches every time and vomited sometimes.

After few weeks, she became better.

 I made her promise me to always take her drugs and sleep under her well treated mosquito net. Together with my siblings, we helped fumigate the surroundings of her home and got rid of some stagnant waters which had become the breeding place of these mosquitoes.

I returned back to school and kept thinking about how I hated mosquitoes because they Suck!

Word count; 346

That's all for my entry for the air-clinic writing contest. Thanks for reading.

 If you want to participate too in this writing contest, Do well to click on the link to the original post below:

https://steemit.com/air-clinic/@air-clinic/air-clinic-writing-contest-22-mosquitoes-and-the-african-man-win-10-sbd-winners-of-last-week

Also join the air-clinic community on discord with the link:

https://discord.gg/rqded5mm

Do well to drop you comments about your experience with mosquitoes.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71