AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST: Poverty, The Elder Cousin Of Diseases

in #air-clinic6 years ago

One would never understand what it meant to be poor, until you have lived like I have. I have literally been living from hand to mouth, and poverty isn't what I would wish to my foes, as I wouldn't wish anyone else having a disease.

I am an eighteen years old, and I have known what it felt like been poor, as also as having a dreadful disease. And from my minute experience, I would classify poverty is an upgrade to disease.

One thing my mother always said while I was growing up was, "poverty is nothing but an elder and upgrade to a disease". One day I called her, and asked her why she always made such statements, and she replied me saying, "No one deserves a disease, but disease gets to us, and we can cure them. Most are born with a disease and such diseases are later cured before even the child realizes he/she was infected, whereas poverty is quite synonymous but not totally. Just like disease, most children are born into it, but they grow to know they have been poor, and they live on like that for ages, until something different happens". Diseases can be cured with money, but when the money isn't available, then surely disease lingers.

I have lived to see disease snatch away a loved one, but I never blamed disease, I always blamed poverty, because it is he poverty, who denied us proper medication and health care, thereby ensuring the loss of a loved one.

I have grown to make a resolution of my own, through the wise words of my mother, to help eradicate poverty in my own capacity, because with poverty eradicated, diseases has no place. Eradication of poverty brings about education about safety against diseases, cure against diseases, and ensures a healthy living.

My resolve to conquer poverty has never been greater, because it is he poverty who begets disease.

word_count == 324

join air-clinic on discord @ https://discord.gg/rqded5m

DQmbcN9aQAd51Cp89Ar6ixQjbTr5vJJEi3MfHFXe7fuZBTr_1680x8400.png

join us on discord @ https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

Nice one. I long killed poverty it has no place around me

I also hope to eradicate poverty myself. Any advice from you sir, will be appreciated

Resteem to 3000+ followers. Send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @bibkchhetri (URL in memo). Service Active 🙂

Poverty is a disease so is ignorance. Yes, money is needed to eradicate poverty so as to bring an end to diseases but creating awareness is also mandatory cos ignorance sometimes kills faster than the disease itself. You've really done great justice to this your post. Well done👌👍

thanks. I appreciate your comment. Poverty and ignorance are a bedrock to an unstable environment filled with vices and diseases

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82