AIDS IS REAL, IT KILLS (AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST)

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

It is a really beautiful day today.The wind is slowly blowing while the trees hum along. It is the day Joshua Essien is to be laid to rest.
As I put on my black dress, I'm reminded of the day I met Josh.

...It was 9 years ago, I was a 3rd yr nursing student. I had just hurriedly stepped out of the classroom, when I bumped into someone. This had me falling backwards, but my fall was broken by strong hands.
I looked into a pair of captivating eyes perfectly placed on a drop-dead gorgeous face. A face that obviously belonged to a Greek god. And at that moment, I fell in love with Josh.
image

He was a final year marketing student who was every girls' fantasy and we started dating shortly after our 1st encounter.

One day, after a heated make out session, I gave myself to Josh. I was so angry at myself for not using protection and when I broached the subject with Josh, he laughed in my face telling me condoms were uncomfortable and that he would never use one.

You see, Josh believed that HIV/AIDS and other STIs were the older generation's way of making the younger generation afraid of sex.

...Our relationship was over as soon as I told him to either go and get tested or use a condom if he ever wanted to sleep with me again.
Fast forward to just 2weeks ago, I was at my station as an emergency nurse when a patient was brought in. The patient was very cachectic and incoherent.

I stopped in my tracks as soon as I realized that the person in front of me was Josh.
Full of life, playful and promising Josh.
I later learned that he had stage 4 AIDS which had affected his brain.

I blamed myself for not being able to convince the one man I had ever loved that HIV/AIDS was real. He knew of his status a while back but believed it to be a lie. He was the manager of an advertising agency.

I lost Josh for the 2nd time last week. I Hurriedly get to the church were the funeral is to be held. I sit there with tears in my eyes thinking of everything Josh meant to me and a sob escapes my lips.

image

If only I had been able to convince Josh that HIV/AIDS was real, he would have taken measures to protect himself. If only!

The end
No of words: 349
Thanks to @air-clinic for giving me the opportunity to share this story.
image
Join AIR-CLINIC discord channel at https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

AIDS is Real o!

Yea... It is.
Thanks for reading

Thanks for the reminder.

You know how to write good stories bro.

Thank you bro

Your Welcome.

Which kind thing, somebody cannot oil in peace ? Beutifully written

Haha haha😂
Thank you

Good story. Is it fiction or real dear...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62767.81
ETH 2942.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55