Airhawk-project's Sunday Exclusives Interview -3- featuring @cryptoctopus

Hello beautiful people called steemians.

You are very much welcomed to this week's episode of our sunday interactive session with steemians doing some really good deeds there on the blockchain. Firstly, we would love to apologize for having not been able to bring you this column of the blog for quite some weeks now. This was partly due to our delight to find that perfect quest you'll love to have around.

Have you ever thought of the best way to go about steeming and encouraging healthy conversation on your blog? We bring to you someone who is an advocate of this. He is an expecting father and one of those early adopters of steemit (those people we all are usually saying we loved to have been like). One today's edition, we were opportuned to have a time out with the famous @cryptoctopus. Find out in the conversation below how it feels to be an early adoppter of steemit,an expectant daddy and above all his general feelings about steemit.

Cryptocpus.JPG

Our anchors for the day are no other than the wonderful trio of @dorth and @aderonkemi and @dreamchasser, with @dorth reporting on this one.

Airhawk:
Welcome Cryptoctopus we are happy to have you here in Airhawk interview hub and congrats on your "expectant daddy" status.

Cryptoctopus:
Thank you, it's really exciting; glad to meet your guys (and gals)

Airhawk:
Can we meet you properly sir? On your bio, it appears you're steeming from Canada.

Cryptoctopus:
Yes, and I have been on steemit since May 2016, and I'm french Canadian.

Airhawk:
Nice... Canada is my dream country tho (Aderonkemi)
The early adopters (clear like glass on your bio)😁

What about the name @cryptoctopus?
Should I guess that you make good crypto guesses? 😁😁

Cryptoctopus:
I first got into crypto in 2013 by following the bitshares project. I realized that most people were using aliases, so I decided to find something funny. I think the octopus is one of the most fascinating animal on earth and it went well with crypto...hence cryptoctopus.

Airhawk:
Wow... Makes a nice combination... I did find it a little weird at first though! Thanks to the breakdown 👍👍

Cryptoctopus:
Yes, it's a little weird indeed

Airhawk:
How does it feel to be an early adopter of steemit and what kept your trust in it at those early times?

Cryptoctopus:
Pretty nice to be honest. Back then, when I was in bitshares, I wish I was there early when bitcoin was worth a dollar. (not realizing that I was there when it was like $150 😄). In my situation, I figured that if I could find a project with huge potential, I would ride it all the way to the top.
Since May 2016, a lot changed in the space and nothing has came close to be a serious contender to the steem blockchain. I still have faith in this project because :
1- There is none like it in the landscape of crypto or social media
2- It solves a big problem
3- It's constantly getting better

Airhawk:
What huge faith you have in the Steem block chain!!! It is a good thing.... Steemit has been a savior for many.

Cryptoctopus:
And it will continue to do so. For the value it provides, steem is ridiculously underpriced.

Airhawk:
I agree with you on that. I've seen many discoveries made by individuals while on this platform.
I wonder if the next question would be rhetorics of what you just said but who knows if you have a different view
What has been your general experience on the platform??

Cryptoctopus:
I'm very fortunate, like all of us, to have discovered steem and steemit.com. I have very loyal followers who upvote and comment my content.
Like any human endeavor, perfection is impossible to attain. Some people will try to cheat, some people will try to take advantage of others...but human nature aside, one thing that truly astonishes me on this platform is the civility of the comments. There is nothing like it on the internet.

Airhawk:
Even comments are food for thoughts and avenues for learning on its own... I couldn't agree less on that!..
Now this really takes us to the next question. We've seen the use steemit have been put to; the interactions and the activities and just like you said, the human nature is a factor.
Do you think there is a right way to steem? to achieve success on this platform? or do you think it all boils down to what works for you?

Cryptoctopus:
I have a fair bit to say about that topic. I have seen people come in late and shoot to the top and I've seen people plugging along at the bottom for months. I have a few theories about it.

Airhawk:
Hmm...

Cryptoctopus:
First, the more people join the platform, the more competition there is for the same amount of rewards. At the end of the day, it's about adding value (whatever people consider valuable)
I firmly believe in the law of compensation which state that each of us will be compensated by:
1- The need for what we do
2- Our ability to do it
3- The difficulty of replacing you
At the beginning, when we were just a few hundreds, being an early adopter and writing was considered valuable. We filled all 3 criteria. As more people join, the criteria #3 becomes less and less true for people who "just blog". I believe you have to do more than "just writing" at this point.
You have to find a way to add more value than 90% of people if you want to be a part of the top 10%.
Here are 2 examples of people who do more than just writing who joined the top 10% of the most rewarded bloggers:
1- @lemouth : the guy is post doctorate in particle physics. He write about science but that's not all that he does. He's also the co-creator of @steemstem which aims to create a community of serious stem scientist on the steemit.com website.
2- @elear of @utopian-io: This guy is a dev and he created something that adds value not only to steem but to the whole world of open source projects. He also created a way for newbies to contribute whatever they can to projects and get rewarded for them if it meets the utopian standards.
In those 2 cases, people do more than "just blogging". They go above and beyond to add value to the community as a whole.
I have created a series for minnows if you are interested:
https://steemit.com/minnow/@cryptoctopus/if-i-was-a-minnow-on-steemit-i-would-part-1
https://steemit.com/minnow/@cryptoctopus/if-i-was-a-minnow-on-steemit-i-would-part-2
https://steemit.com/minnow/@cryptoctopus/if-i-was-a-minnow-on-steemit-i-would-part-3

Airhawk:
Wow! This is huge and definitely going to be useful for us and other minnows alike.
This would be in my left hand (so I don't eat it with my food) (@dorth)
Some few more question to go and we would be rounding up in no time.
In your bio, we can see you are a marketing strategist, what does that entail for you? and was that helpful in making you successful thus far on steemit?

Cryptoctopus:
I have a marketing agency on the west coast of vancouver island with a friend of mine in the resort and tourism industry. How it helped me with is, it think, to understand the basic of how influence works and how people think.
Too many people are obsessed with their own pet project in my opinion without walking a mile in the shoes of the person they are trying to help. Many artists and business owners fall into that category.
How it helped me with on steemit? I think it help me with writing copy that connects with people's emotion, how to tell a good story, etc.
( At this point, our family man and guest had to dash and requested for one last question as he had to prepare dinner for his wife that night as it was their 5th month wedding anniversary. Of the available questions, we thought the one below was most important)

Airhawk:
What are your views on SMT

Cryptoctopus:
I'm incredibly excited about SMTs. I have been talking with many people who are working multiple different use case for these tokens that reaches way beyond what most people usually think about.

One major pain point right now is how ethereum is a nightmare when it comes to ICO, it's too slow and the transaction fees are eating part of people's investment. SMTs will be fast and without transaction fees.

I believe we will see the value of Steem go through the stratosphere once they are online for a few months.

Airhawk:
Wow! simple and straight to point and I hold on to that point

SMTs will be fast and without transaction fees.
Thanks so much for having us take a part of your time.

Cryptoctopus:
Thanks, you have a good night.

Yeah, and that's it, a wrap although we would have loved to hold him a bit more longer but thanks to the noble reason he had to dash. I can see some of you you ladies already covetting a man like him.

I must say we had a lovely time having @cryptocpus on this edition of this interview and to you the audience, I trust you all enjoyed every bit of information shared as i tried bringing it almost as it went.

You can suggest to us the next steemian you'll love us to bring on next.

Till we meet again, I am yours, @dorth.


To stay abreast with our goal and mission, Follow @airhawk-project.


To support our endeavours, kindly UPVOTE and RESTEEM this post.


The Airhawk-project – Relating, Informing, Sharing, and Supporting One Steemit.

Sort:  

This interview is full of great insights. Airhawk-project is doing a rare job out here. I particularly learnt a lot from this interview and boosted my confidence as it relates to the proposed SMTs underway.

I'm incredibly excited about SMTs. I have been talking with many people who are working multiple different use case for these tokens that reaches way beyond what most people usually think about.

One major pain point right now is how ethereum is a nightmare when it comes to ICO, it's too slow and the transaction fees are eating part of people's investment. SMTs will be fast and without transaction fees.

These are well thought out words that could help one especially newbies reach a major decision in their dealings with cryptocurrencies.
Thank you again airhawk-project.

What was I even doing with my life then....playing computer games.....mtcheeew if only I know better

I first got into crypto in 2013 by following the bitshares project. I realized that most people were using aliases, so I decided to find something funny. I think the octopus is one of the most fascinating animal on earth and it went well with crypto...hence cryptoctopus

Great and nice interview...though I miss the real show but I can grab all info right here.

Nice update @airhawk-project

Thanks for the kind mention to me and the @steemstem project :)

Don't we all wish we've been here a little earlier... Thanks for this interview @airhawk-project and @cryptoctopus for honouring it. And also, thanks for your lessons for newbies...

Wow!

First, the more people join the platform, the more competition there is for the same amount of rewards. At the end of the day, it's about adding value (whatever people consider valuable)

I wish a lot of persons will develop the mindset of seeing steemit as an avenue for sharing ideas and adding value to the platform, community and people's lives here - People who will learn and benefit greatly from the posts or articles, and the next generation to come who by God's willing and as long as steemit is still working perfectly, will still see the posts on steemit.

Shout out to @airhawk-project, I've learnt a lot from this session and I'm really inspired.

Thank you @cryptoctopus for your time. I really appreciate.

Happy Steeming

It was fun. Thanks for this opportunity to share.

I cant believe people have been in crypto since 2013. I was busy pursing degrees, i am still pursing it. Lol. Well glad i am part of it and the new movement of decentralization.

Thanks for heeding to our call sir. Regards to your wife and happy anniversary to you both

@airhawk-project is the best......

This is really a great and inspiring session.

Thank you @cryptoctopus for coming around

Thank you very much @airhawk-project for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66