Confidence

in #ajaykumar45 years ago

Uber driver: “Vanshi Maam, I am at your location “enter location”. I am waiting for you”

  • I was so so confused. I went downstairs, sat in the Uber and re-read his message.

Then, I asked “Bhaiya, apne English kahan se seekha hai?”

Here’s the conversation, 40% was in English:

“Ma’am, I learned English while working as an office boy”

  • How?

“Ma’am, while I was working, everyone spoke English.
Over time, when I heard things that were being said again and again, I asked what it meant.

  • Ok, but who taught you?

“I did with the help of my friends in office!” He said with a gleaming smile.
I went to my friends in office and told them I wanted to learn English, then, I told them that if I ask a question, it’s because I want to learn and I don’t know”

  • Did they help?

“Yes, they were very kind, they answered all my questions and slowly even taught me new words and things I can say”

  • Do you know how to read and write?

“No ma’am but my children are teaching me”

  • How?

“My daughter is in 12th, my son in 10th. They learn English in school and while they learn, they teach me little”

I was speechless.
This man, in his 50s, had 4 qualities

  • Confidence
  • Ability to accept shortcomings
  • An active approach to learning
  • Positivity

Uttam Uncle, you inspire me.
image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73