ALAS Curation Series | January | MEET Christina Schmidt!

in #alas6 years ago

Amazing Local Artist Spotlight.jpg

Hey, you! Check it out! For the first ever episode of the brand-spankin' new ALAS curation series, I am excited to introduce you to a longtime friend and talented painter, Christina Schmidt.

Christina is 26, was raised in the country a few miles outside of Rose Creek, Minnesota with her parents and two older siblings. After graduating high school, she moved to Austin, MN where she settled down with her fiancee Alan Trotman and their three rambunctious and affectionate cats.

When I arrived at her house, a modest yellow abode on a quiet street in Austin, Christina opened the door almost as soon as my foot hit the top step of their stoop. She invited me into the living room, a cozy room with paintings lining the walls, bookshelves on one side of the room and a fireplace on the other.

In between the occasional crash from one of the cats knocking something off of a table, we were able to sit and talk about her art, her inspirations, and, (of course) STEEM!



27495908_10159841935515277_612557939_n.jpg Used with permission from the artist

A.L.A.S. - How old were you when you got into painting?

C.S. - I was probably about 16. When I was growing up, I liked to write and draw a lot, but it was my grandmother who got me into painting. My grandmother loved to paint. She had 5 kids, and each one has over 20 plus paintings of hers in each of their homes.

A.L.A.S. - So she must have painted a lot!

C.S. - Yeah she did. My grandmother, my mom's mom, liked to give paintings as gifts. We had this huge nature painting in my living room growing up that I would just stare at and get lost in. It was this magical place that I always wanted to go to. So one Christmas, my mom bought me these paints and some canvases. I'm thinking maybe it was because her mom was a painter so she was just like 'Oh, well I know that you like to draw and do arts and crafts, maybe you'll like this.'

A.L.A.S. - (laughs) So in a way she was trying to see if you had gotten some of your grandma's creative genes.

C.S. - Right! And so I had this scenic picture of Duluth [Minnesota], and I just started painting it. That's when I realized how much fun it was. I didn't start painting until after [my grandmother's] death and it kind of felt like a connection to her. I really admired how she gave joy to us through her paintings.

27583071_10159841935215277_1488640631_n.jpg Used with permission from the artist

A.L.A.S. - So what would you consider your style of painting to be?

C.S. - Just whatever I find beautiful. I don't know. (laughs)
So for me, when I'm actually painting, it's very meditative for me. Any negative feelings go away and I'm just happy. And then when I give a painting to someone and they find joy in looking at it, that gives me joy also, so it's like I'm benefitting on both ends.

A.L.A.S. - Well I guess what I mean is that in a lot of your paintings, you feature a lot of very prominent or striking skylines, a lot of contrast between the bright colors and the dark shadows, or often there are silhouettes that contrast very vividly against the colors in the sky. What is it that inspires you to paint the way that you do?

C.S. - For me, it's just nature. Well, I guess the fantasy idea of nature. I kind of paint to relax and so I try to think of a magical, beautiful place to go. And I've always loved the outdoors. I love adventures, every weekend we are going on little road trips to different places to go hiking, biking, canoeing, tubing, or swimming.

27650692_10159841935105277_204616617_o.jpg Used with permission from the artist

A.L.A.S. - So would you say that you think of it as creating a place to escape, like a kind of vacation?

C.S. - Yeah, that's a good way to put it. And I love mountains, so that's why I paint them so often. Colorado is one of my favorite places. There is something about going to the mountains where you can just feel this energy coming off of them.

A.L.A.S. - I've also noticed that in many of your paintings, the most striking feature is often the sky. The stars and the clouds and the planets you depict are a very big theme for you. Why is that?

C.S. - I think space is just magical. I love laying under the stars in the summer and thinking about how vast the universe is and all the unknowns. A lot is left up to the imagination.

27497664_10159841952320277_410174054_n.jpg Used with permission from the artist

A.L.A.S. - Do you usually start out painting in a negative head space then, and then use the painting as a way to work through that?

C.S. - Actually, yeah, but I never thought of it that way. That probably sounds really bad.

A.L.A.S. - Not necessarily. I think that some of the best artists out there use their talents as a way of processing the things in their lives that they have a hard time dealing with on their own.

C.S. - That's true. And I've never understood when people say that they are putting their emotions into their work, but I guess that maybe I am doing the same thing, because I do start from this place of feeling down, and the act of painting lifts me back up, so maybe that is what I am experiencing.

22089581_10159305909105277_2049826486476272621_n.jpg Used with permission from the artist

A.L.A.S. - And don't get me wrong, I am not saying that your art is in any way dark. Your art doesn't give me the impression that it's coming from a place of angst, or anger, or frustration. I get more of the sense of longing or desire in your work if that makes sense.

C.S. - Yeah, I don't think of it as downloading my issues onto my work, so much. I tend to think of it more as an escape from whatever is bothering me, rather than a place to project or manifest the feelings.

A.L.A.S. - There are a lot of "tortured" artists out there that do produce a lot of very dark and disturbing art, and some of it is very good, but in many cases, they are clearly trying to express those feelings into the painting. To me, you seem to be finding a beautiful place to go to instead.

C.S. - I think that a lot of artists find it comfortable to work in that headspace. I don't. For me, I'm just going to a happy place. I think it's kind of the same when I sleep. Like, a lot of people will have nightmares or bad dreams, and I think that maybe they're subconsciously processing these negative emotions. But when I go to sleep, I go to this magical world. It's like I go to a kind of Heaven, and I wake up in a state of pure bliss.

15268050_10157740883865277_1440633269659668087_n.jpg Used with permission from the artist

A.L.A.S. - Wait, so you're saying that you never have bad dreams?

C.S. - Well, not never, I used to get a rare bad dream here or there, years ago when I was a kid, but now I've just weeded that all out.

A.L.A.S. - That is amazing. I wish we could all say that! How were you able to do it?

C.S. - Well, it's all about control. You can control the way your dreams go just with the power of your mind.

A.L.A.S. - Do you mean something like lucid dreaming?

C.S. - Well, maybe on a different level. I'm not necessarily lucid during the dream, but If I don't like where a dream is going, I'll just stop the dream, start over, and change it so that it isn't negative.

A.L.A.S. - So how many paintings do you think you have done over the course of your career? I know that you said that you started with drawing and writing and didn't discover your love for painting until later.

C.S. - Yeah, I didn't get into painting until about 10 years ago, and I think I've done around 30 or so paintings, so that's about 3 paintings a year. (Laughing) Honestly, that's not very many.

A.L.A.S. - Well, it's not as if you were trying to make a living solely on painting, at least right now.

C.S. - Yeah, most of the time I just do a couple for myself or to give as gifts to family members. I really like to do that, because that's what my grandma used to do. I do remember that one year I didn't give out any paintings as gifts, and I felt disappointed that I didn't create something for them, so that inspired me to paint a lot the next year.

27496035_10159841970655277_1097389335_n.jpg
Used with permission from the artist

A.L.A.S. - Do you see yourself continuing to do more and more painting? Is this something that you expect to start expanding in, like maybe using different mediums, things like that?

C.S. - Yeah I am. Because I'm so new to this still, it's exciting to keep getting better and better and to be able to see the progress in each painting. So far, I've only used acrylic paints and canvas or canvas board. I don't really have a well-ventilated area to try oil painting, so that will have to wait.

A.L.A.S. - Are you working on any new paintings now?

C.S. - With everything that's been happening with Alan and his medical issues, and the struggles with the custody battle for his daughter that he's been going through as well, I've just been so down these last couple of months that I just stopped painting for a while. I was just too upset to have the motivation to do anything creative. But then I started a painting about 2 days ago, and it made me feel better, which made me realize that this is what I should be doing when I feel this way.

27495904_10159841934940277_1783908955_n.jpg Used by permission from the artist


As you know if you read the Intro post for the series, one of my main goals with this piece is to give something back to the artists using the power of the blockchain, and hopefully seeing that power manifested in real money will convince them to bring their talents onto Steemit.

To accomplish this, after the 7 days on the post is up I will either convert the earnings from the post into cash for them to use toward making more art or use the SBD to help them get their own account started, whichever they prefer.

After my conversation with Christina above, I gave her the crash course version of what Steemit is, and how she can find a community to appreciate and support her work. Needless to say, she was impressed. She has elected to use the money earned from the post to start her own Steemit account and get started contributing to the community!


If you would like to help Christina and other artists like her get started off on the right foot on her journey, you can help! All you have to do is do like the clickable banner says:

Upvote, Follow, Resteem Banner.jpg

SO THESE STARVING ARTISTS CAN EAT!

Also, check out these other great communities to find other great artists and creatives, collaborate, get your q's a'd, ect! Just click on the banners to see more!


Steem Music Alliance Token.png MSP-PAL.png AdSactly Coin.png

Unity Guild Banner 2.jpg

Sort:  

Good luck topping this post. My goodness! The artwork alone! And then I get to know her through your interview and let me just say it's formatted beautifully! You're a talented blogger and overall human bean! Geez! Excited much? Lol ok I'm going to go calm down, this post got me hyped. Her artstyle, I'm an insta-fan, I'm swooning over the cosmic feels ✨✨✨✨✨

Haha thank you so much! I gotta tell ya, you made Christina's day. She just called me saying that she got a message on Facebook from you, and she is just GLOWING! You rock!
Also, I'm thinking that I'm going to try to convince her to let me buy that painting down at the bottom of the post. I LOVE that one.

That makes my heart so Happy! ♥♥♥

Wow!!!

Great work! I will check later the author! :)

Haha, thanks! Be sure to follow my blog, I'll be doing one of these every month! I've already go the next couple lined up, and they are going to be awesome, so stay tuned!

Ok! I will! I can't wait! :)

some really great artwork in there, sounds like a terrific initiative! :)

Thank you sir!

Wow, those pictures are amazing along with your intention to bring the artist in to steemit. Well done @wylde.

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)



Thank you! Ill check it out as soon as the show is over!

Really great way to get artists on board with a little bit of SBD!

Thank you. I hope to be able to generate enough to start her account without her having to pay anything out of pocket. Make the transition easy and smooth.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wylde from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

ok already I vote. do not forget to vote back

You got a 1.20% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @wylde!

A lot of killer art work, thanks!

Thanks for reading! I've got lots of great stuff coming up for the next few months as well!

I'm following you. Heard about you through MSP radio. I'm a musician and I really love killer artwork as well.

I think i saw one of your posts on one of the radio post promo shows as well. Music is one of my personal passions. I look forward to seeing more of what you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56