7-Day Music Challenge - Day 1 - The Sticks by MotherMother

in #albumchallenge6 years ago

So this is a thing that's going around Steemit at the moment, the 7-Day Music challenge. I was challenged by my love @mstafford to share my 7 favourite albums of all time.

This is indeed a challenge for me as I'm not a super hardcore music person. But I'll give it a whirl. Today for Day 1 I am sharing an album from a band that I truly love, Mother Mother. They are local to BC, I discovered them back when I was in photo school in 2010. It's been really exciting to watch them grow in popularity. The first year we lived here in Victoria, they were the band selected to play the free Canada Day concert on the steps of the Legislature building and it was an incredible concert. I then saw them again at the Kelowna Community Theatre which was awesome as well. They are so fun to see live- they really love to engage with the energy of the crowd.
It was super hard for me to pick just one album. O My Heart is incredible, and was the first one I listened to, but I picked The Sticks (2012) to feature because when it came out that's when I truly fell for their sound.

image.png

I love it because it explores themes of isolation and the desire to be alone and away from a society that is crooked and awful. How awesome is that? Who wants to hear another goddamn love song? Not me. Have a listen to a couple of my faves:

Bit by Bit

Businessman

Infinitessemal

Do yourself a favour though and have a listen to all of their albums. SO GOOD.

So, below are the rules for the challenge. According them, I now have to nominate another Steemian to join in, so I nominate the lovely @flaversham to give us a glimpse into her taste in music!


Rules

You need to pick your 7 all time favourite albums. Post one every day for seven days in a row.

One song (AT LEAST) from each album has to be in your playlist currently. Oh yeah, you also have to share this song with us through YouTube.

The Cover of the Album has to be the main theme of your post each day.

No need to explain why the specific album is a favourite of yours, but if you feel like it, PLEASE do!

Use #albumchallenge as a tag.

Last but not least, nominate a different steemian each day!

Sort:  

Ooo nice one! Def a great album.

COOL! I'll do this for sure. Though, some of mine are going to be a bit embarrassing probably. lol

ooo I can't wait! :D

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98