7 Day Music Challenge-Day 3- Hedwig and the Angry Inch Original Broadway Cast Recording

in #albumchallenge6 years ago

Is this cheating? It's still an album, I think! Or is it more accurate to call it a soundtrack. Regardless, for Day 3 of the music challenge I'm sharing it because Hedwig was the first Broadway musical I saw in real life!

51TrFOu8UyL._SS500.jpg
Image Source.

If you're a Hedwig fan you may be a little perturbed that I'm showcasing the NPH music rather than the original John Cameron Mitchell play or movie soundtrack. To this I say I LIKE HARRIS BETTER AND YOU CAN SAY WHAT YOU LIKE BUT I STILL DO. Phewf. Okay, now that that is out of the way, let me share some of Hedwig's story with you.

Hedwig is the lead singer of a rock band. Originally Hansel from East Berlin pre-wall-fall--he decides to escape with a not so nice man named Luther, by becoming a she. But the sex change operation is botched, leaving our Hedwig with an "angry inch".

You still with me?

I love this musical. It's heartbreaking, historical, and hilarious. I was so enraptured by Harris's performance. How did he have the energy to do it? To give you an example, I'm including his Tony performance for your viewing pleasure. Also notice that Harris is introduced by another of my idols, RuPaul.

Sugar Daddy


So you think only a woman
Can truly love a man
Then you buy me the dress
I'll be more woman than a man like you can stand

I have to say that I'm simultaneously attracted to both Neil Patrick Harris and Lena Hall, who plays her husband and back up vocalist (who gets some of their own songs), Yitzhak. If your interested, listen to Lena Hall sing anything, ever. Like at the end of this song. If I could sing like that, my life would be very different.

Midnight Radio

Here's to Patti
And Tina
And Yoko
Aretha
And Nona
And Nico
And Me
And all the strange rock and rollers
You know you're doing all right
So hold on to each other
You gotta hold on tonight

ACTUALLY SCRATCH THAT, JUST LISTEN TO LENA SING THE SONG ON HER OWN.

Okay. That is it for me today! A bit weird, a bit wacky, but if you ever get a chance to see the show, or even watch the original Hedwig movie, do it. Below are the rules for the 7 Day Music Challenge! I nominate @somebuttstuff <3

RULES

You need to pick your 7 all time favourite albums. Post one every day for seven days in a row.
One song (AT LEAST) from each album has to be in your playlist currently. Oh yeah, you also have to share this song with us through YouTube.

The Cover of the Album has to be the main theme of your post each day.

No need to explain why the specific album is a favourite of yours, but if you feel like it, PLEASE do!

Use #albumchallenge as a tag.

Last but not least, nominate a different steemian each day!

Sort:  

WARNING! The comment below by @minhajhussain7 leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Hello @flaversham, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76