Interview - 25 YO Carsen Klock - The Genius Behind Denarius (DNR)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #algorithm7 years ago (edited)

1460151_10202160773837121_47595800_n.jpg

Carsen Klock is the genius behind the new coin Denarius that uses a new mining algo called Tribus that is ASIC resistant right now. Miners are earning great returns as this coin climbs up the CMC charts with a great Gitter community behind it, love dropping in and chatting with their developers and feeling the soaking and rain of DNR they give to active users. Below is an interview I conducted with Carsen thru Gitter private message.

We have been acquainted since you were a regular in Dash slack, do you care to share a few stories about yourself and your background in crypto?

My name is Carsen Klock, I am 25, and I have been involved in the crypto scene since roughly 2011. I started creating cryptocurrencies in 2013 and stopped in 2014-2015 after getting hired at GAW Miners Inc, where I worked on Paycoin, Paybase, and Zencloud. After GAW Miners went down, I worked at Apple Inc. as Account Security for a few years, I realized my dreams weren’t dreams when I could make them happen and I decided to get back into crypto.

Question from Gitter developer tinchopf for DNR :
"Is it true that you are also known as the brown pew die pie?"

Haha, I suppose to some. To sum it up, my girlfriend has an obsession with PewDiePie.

You've explained how you picked the name Denarius for your crypto, but do you believe it is a name that will resonate with traders?

Yes, I think Denarius is a great name for traders, investors, and those new to cryptocurrency. I believe most investors, at least those interested in precious metals or numismatics, generally have heard of Denarius as an ancient collectible roman silver coin. When you hear Denarius, you can’t help but think of value, ancient times, and mystery.

HALFWAY POINT OF INTERVIEW - Enjoy this meme:

12743669_10207799222914824_7071819266918200745_n.jpg

BACK TO BUSINESS

How does your Stealth privacy solution differ from other privacy solutions?

Denarius features Stealth Addresses and Encrypted Messaging, both fairly standard in anonymity centric cryptocurrencies. Stealth Addresses do not require anything fancy, while most other coins require extra fees or lots of setup, Stealth addresses just work.

What is your favorite adult beverage and why?

Blue Moon, its just a great beer!

What is the latest news about exchange listings for DNR?

Cryptopia.co.nz was the last exchange to officially support DNR trading.
We have contacted many other exchanges (Bittrex, Poloniex, HitBTC, etc.), but due to their centralized nature it is hard to hear back from some. Bitfinex seems to be the most responsive recently and the most likely to potentially add DNR support.

I have tried your Proof of Stake feature, which is only supposed to go into full effect at block 3M, are there any tricks you'd like to share for improving early PoS returns for those of us who prefer not to mine DNR? Does increasing your stake improve early returns?

Proof of Stake is currently implemented and working, it has been working since the launch of Denarius. The best way to earn rewards with PoS is to have a greater amount of DNR. However there is no minimum amount, DNR is just required to be a minimum of 8 hours old. Your reward rate is based off how many DNR you have staking, your weight, the network weight, and how often a PoS block is found. It is all based off of a 6% APR.

What do you do in your off time when you are not trying to save the Cryptoverse?

I like to game, watch videos and movies, code random things, and design. I am not much for being active, but when I do I like to ride dirt bikes, razers, off road, snowboard, and go camping.

Where do you see DNR 10 years from now?

I think within 10 years we will see a lot more external support for it, exchanges, merchant services, and a lot more! The future is open. I hope that is good!

Thus endeth the interview, I visit DNR lobby regularly to stay in touch with Carsen who has very little time to visit Dashnation and I have made a few friends there as well. There are multiple mining pools for Denarius and my friend in Dashnation tried mining some and caught a block on his laptop. The hashrate is still low enough to be able to even CPU mine DNR, but I have been investigating the PoS and slowly improving my stake as I wait for Denarius to get listed on an exchange I trade on regularly.

If you are on Gitter and want to join the conversation, here is the link to Denarius Lobby:

https://gitter.im/denariusproject/Lobby

Happy Trading & Prosperous Returns!

Sort:  

This coin has a huge future.

They have a fun community that I can see millennials adopting and an easy sync, feature rich Qt wallet. I am mining DNR right now with one NVIDIA 1060 card and getting 1 to 2 DNR a day. If you haven't checked out their wallet yet, you can find the downloads at denarius.io

nice exposure to the alt-currency narrative!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68145.39
ETH 3732.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65