Television? After school? Never!

in #alisonuttley5 years ago (edited)


Nearly three months ago, a group of from the PowerHouseCreatives, a space in which I play on Steemit, launched a monthly competition with a theme. We then choose our top 3 within that theme, and explain why we've chosen them. There is the chance of winning something, but that's not why I participate. In the first two, I happily participated - one was comedy films (and you can read my entry here). The second continued the film theme, and was yes, tunes from the movies, a topic that I really could get into, which is why I participated - and went a trifle over the top. That entry is here.

This month, is a somewhat different story - it centres around children's TV programmes. The full details are here, but suffice it to say, that kids' TV programmes and I, well, we didn't have a relationship. The theme, however, did get me thinking about what I may, or may not have missed.

Television arrived in South Africa in 1976, a seminal year in my life and in South Africa. This last had nothing to do with TV or me; it was the year that South Africa's black youth rebelled against the use of Afrikaans as the medium of instruction in schools. That will be 43 years ago on June 16th. For me, it was significant because it was the year I went to boarding school.

Neither of these events have anything to do with children's TV, obviously, except that it was only at boarding school that I got to watch television. There, television-watching was tightly controlled and most certainly not in the afternoon after school - that time was reserved for sport, homework and just generally getting on with "stuff". When I went home for the holidays, there was no TV, either, so we would watch selected programmes, next door, with our tv-owning neighbour. I think it must have been three or four years later that my parents acquired a television. It had certainly happened by 1981 because a crowd of my uni mates invaded my parents' livingroom to watch the wedding of the century (as far as we were concerned): Prince Charles to Lady Diana Spencer.

I digress. Again.

I am reaching an age - yes, I have to use that word - when I realise that I grew up in a world that today's generation finds inconceivable. No television. I concede that I know people who have completely eschewed the box, but they are far and few between. My parents came to South Africa in 1966; I was three. I have a distant memory of our sitting room in Bridlington, Yorkshire, and a black and white television set. The next time I saw one, was not in anybody's home, but rather in the Journalism Department at Rhodes University. It must have been 1974 and was part of a holiday activity organised by the Sunday School. It's also the first time I stood in front of a TV camera. Saturday was the most recent - more of that if, perhaps, when, the programme is aired, and includes a snippet of that two minute interview.

Returning to toddler Fiona's "memory" of TV, my mother used to tell me about Pogo. I believe that I once owned a pogo stick. And Camberwick Green. Both also "came" in comic form which we received from England, with Camberwick Green, a large, hardcover annual publication. We only had one, and I read it over and over. There was, of course, the radio and on the station to which my parents listened, was an afternoon slot, Little People's Playtime, at around 3pm. I have no idea of its duration, but I do remember that it included serialised renditions of Enid Blyton's Noddy and CS Lewis's Chronicles of Narnia. I was only ever a peripatetic listener in school holidays, on wintery afternoons, when it wasn't possible to be outside. During school terms, I listened only ever on a Wednesday: our school day ended at 3.15pm.

So, that, and only having sons from other mothers, means that children's television programmes are anathama. What I did love, though, was sitting cuddled next to my granny while she read aloud. The memories of her 1969 visit to South Africa, and this activity, are vivid. She would sit in the middle of the sofa with her granddaughters on either side of her, a coffee table in front of her with a cigarette in a long black holder, smoking away in a large ashtray, while she clacked away with her knitting needles and read to us.


Delia Carroll Stockford, my maternal grandmother

She read the tales of Beatrix Potter - not all of them, then, because we'd get one or two to add to the collection, each Christmas. I don't know what happened to them, but I do believe we had an almost complete collection.


Source: Screenshot from a image Google Search

It was not just Flopsy, Mopsy, Cottontail and Peter, but Tom Kitten, Squirrel Nutkin, Jemima Puddleduck, Mrs Tiggy-Winkle as well as Piggling Bland. All names that cropped up all through my childhood including in the board game - also a Granny Christmas present.

Another much-loved set of characters was Little Grey Rabbit and her pals, Hare and Squirrel who danced around the may pole - among other things. It was also because of that series of books that I fell in love with The Speckeldy Hen and her speckled eggs. I still love speckled eggs.


Source

When Granny couldn't find another Beatrix Potter, it was a Little Grey Rabbit book that arrived in the post from Oxford, England. We waited in anticipation, each Christmas and birthday.

Once I learned to read, I devoured books and would get as many as I possibly could out of the public or school library, often returning them early for a new crop. I lived in those books and the pictures in my imagination were much more vivid and beautiful than anything on the covers or, I believe, film. There is, though, something about listening to a story read aloud. When we were a bit older, Granny sent another series: all about Dr Doolittle, his dog, Gyp, and how Dr Doolittle could converse with animals. By then I could read, and I'm not sure whether it was to spare her the agony of dispute resolution, or whether she wanted to read the books herself (that would have been me in her shoes), but Mum decreed, and would, read about a chapter an evening. My sister and I would sit at her feet and listen in wrapt attention.


Source

It was only when I researched the various titles and authors of these books that I discovered that there was a vicarious link between CS Lewis and South Africa. At the time, he was a member of the Literature Department at Oxford University, and a colleague of JRR Tolkein's. Tolkein was born in Bloemfontein, South Africa. Tolkein's The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings are among the most memorable reads of my adolescence and early adulthood, and when television wasn't the ubiquitous and pervasive phenomenon it is today. They are also books I read again and again.

To ask me what my favourite books were are, is almost impossible. I read many, and others I've not mentioned, remain in my memory. Some - for reasons also connected to Granny - like AA Milne's Winnie the Pooh, Now We are Six and Christopher Robin. When it came to other series, which, I suppose one could liken to a TV series, my two favourite ones were, again, from Enid Blyton: The Secret Seven and The Famous Five. At the time, Enid Blyton's books were frowned upon as not "proper" reading material, but they did give (and I hope still do), millions of children a way of escaping their humdrum existences and at the same time instill in them a joy of reading. Her Noddy series to which I've already referred, has had some rather drastic modernisation because, as a product of her time, characters reflected the mores of that period. "Gollywog" is now unacceptable as a description, let alone as the name of a character, and similarly, to call a policeman "Big Ears" - because he needed them to keep his helmet from covering his eyes, just simply isn't done.

It may seem that after we left the UK, and television, I might have had a deprived childhood, it certainly wasn't missed. My childhood was filled with fascinating worlds, colours and characters that lived in my imagination; some still do. The ones I've mentioned, are just a few - there were many, many others.

Post Script


This cannot be an entry into the June PHC Top 3 for two reasons: firstly, I've missed the deadline for entry by a day, but also, there are no kids' TV programmes about which I have any real knowledge to even begin to make a choice of three. However, in support of the @phctop3 initiative, 50% of the Steem payout from this post will be transferred to that account.

Curation Trail


There is have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3

5SP 10SP 25SP
50SP 100SP 150SP
200SP 250SP 300SP
400SP 500SP 1000SP

Until next time Fiona The Sandbag House McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma




If you're a compulsive Instagrammer like me, Share2Steem and earn




Let me help with your English writing
Rates depend on the depth of edit required

More about why I am offering this service here

Contact me









 

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.fionasfavourites.net/2019/06/10/television-after-school-never/
Sort:  

Hey @fionasfavourites

We have recieved your wonderful donation to this months contest. Thank you so much.

Along with your brilliant post, we would like to thank you for your great contribution to our contest over the first few month's. You are a star!

The PHC Top 3 Panel

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks for sharing these memories, Fiona! I think this post should win some sort of, "Honorable Mentions" for all the awesomesauce children's books you talked about, as well as your amazing walk down memory lane in general!

You are too kind, Traci, thank you! I think I just suffer from the writing equivalent of verbal diarrhoea!

What a fantastic post, Fiona.

I don't really know where to start, so I'll start at the very beginning! 😁

You have, and not for the first time, blown me away with your enthusiasm for our little contest and once again proven the huge potential it has for inspiring good content and creating a buzz. You, 'get it!' and that, for me, has been one of the coolest things that has happened to us in the early stages of this thing. Yeah, we need the economics to keep it running but that was never why the idea came about in the first place. It was all about talking about stuff that you love and hearing other people's views on it. All from one very excitable conversation on the PHC general chat forum.

No TV until 1976! That's a statement right there. Definitely hard for our younger steemian friends to understand. Hell, it's not easy for me to comprehend and I was born in 73! It's cool how you can remember Yorkshire, the TV in the living room and wild that you never saw another TV for 8 years!

The wireless is something that I've only really used for two things. Music and sport. I used to sit next to my dad's music centre and record the songs that I wanted from the top 40 music charts on Radio 1. This was in the late 70s, early eighties. It was either that or listening to my beloved Bristol Rovers Football Club when they were traveling away and I could not go. I never really listened to any other stuff and that's a shame because I love The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe. I'm sure I would have enjoyed listening to that.

My daughter loves the Beatrix Potter stories. We took her up to Lake Windermere when she was younger and we visited the house and the museum. They hold a place in our hearts and I know Jaime feels the same.

I am a massive Silmarillion/The Hobbit/The Lord of the Rings fan. I have read LOTR so many times that I have actually lost count. In fact I am due for another go! I first read it when I was 14 and not only did it kickstart my passion for fantasy and for Rings lore but started a passion for reading that I was lacking before hand. If you ever want to chat about any of this, I'd be excited to do so! 😁

Finally, your gesture to share your earnings on this post had me slightly choked up at one point! I sound like a bit of a wet flannel, but it's true. The Panel are so passionate and enthusiastic about this and we believe in it, so when somebody shows us the same kind of passion and enthusiasm as we do, It means an awful lot. Thank you. Thank you for your brilliant post and thank you for being excited about the @phctop3.

Gaz

Loading...

Great selection of books we read as children Fiona, the ones I fondly remember was The Secret Seven and The Famous Five along with The Hardy Boys Books.

Must have been around 16 to 18 years old read Lord of the Rings along with the Hobbit. Never took to comic books nor periodicals, still enjoy a good read when I have the time, let ones own imagination take you on a magic carpet ride.

You know, Joan, I never read any of the Nancy Drew books that I recall. I have no idea why. My first encounter with The Hobbit was when I was 13 and then I went on to read LOTR at uni - along with Ursula le Guinn's Earthsea Trilogy. I was much into modern fantasy literature at the time that I lamented that that elective option was not available the year I finished my English degree.

I was not much of a comic fan either - they were sent to us and therefore, read.

Reading - I wish I had more time to lose myself in a book and read it from cover to cover in a day. Those were the days!

Hi, @fionasfavourites!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This is nothing short of an awesome post Fiona! Thanks for taking the time to get involved and your story is so unique and inspiring (for me anyway), I feel like I've learned so much!

Thank you also for the awesome gesture of donating to the prize pool. I'll make sure you get some SBI from me in the next couple of days as a way of saying thanks.

As for the technology side of things. If you can learn to balance it's use and influence in your life, it can be a very powerful tool and can benefit our lives. We wouldn't have met if it wasn't for it so for that I'm grateful.

Take it easy my ex pat friend 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, @nickyhavey -

I've learned so much

Ummm... you shall have to enlighten me...

Technology, I have a love-hate relationship with. I love that there are so many things that we can do now, that were impossible a few years ago. That I could start and run a relatively successful business with an ICL Elf (Google it if you don't know what it is), an analog telephone line and a fax machine in 1993 was because of technology. Now, I have no fax machine in favour of email, and could probably do without the landline in favour of VOIP, and have clients and associates and friends - like you - not just in the same town, or country, but all over the world, is the marvellous miracle of technology. But, as you say, balance is all. And, I might add, doing no harm. I do worry about the negative consequences of technology. Starting with plastic; don't get me on to GMO...which has benefits but equally has potential for much evil. I do loathe the extent to which technology dominates and even overtakes things. But then, all developments, from fire, tools, the wheel and the aeroplane are all about technology and development.

Lastly, as I have said to more than one of the PHC Top 3 team, one of the reasons I like this initiative, is because the topics make me think about things I've not thought about for yonks. But, more than that, the way you've structured it means that if one really does want to do it justice, explaining one's choices is "proper" writing - you gotta make a case - that's argumentative writing, right?

Thanks and SBI unnecessary, but graciously accpeted.

Thank you, Nicky!

Ummm... you shall have to enlighten me...

I've learned so much about you of course! I've also learned you seemingly don't take compliments well so I'll bear that in mind also :D

all developments, from fire, tools, the wheel and the aeroplane are all about technology and development.

Yep, it's when those developments get in to the wrong hands do we then see technology in a bad light when in reality, it's still humans that are "in control".

that's argumentative writing, right?

I guess so. We just wanted to encourage developing reasoning as a skill because if you can develop that, you can see things in a different way which may be beneficial, not just for entering the Top 3 contest but in life in general - work, business, relationships etc.

Thanks and SBI unnecessary, but graciously accpeted.

You're welcome and you already know my thoughts on the word "necessary" here ;)

you seemingly don't take compliments well

Oh dear. A lesson I am still trying to learn...

Posted using Partiko Android

Me too 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Little Grey Rabbit.............now you're talking.
A series of books that enchanted me as a child.
No TV!! We raced in from the garden to listen to "SUPERman" at 5,15 every day, when we were not too engrossed in our game outside.
A different way of growing up entirely Fiona!

Ha! Superman, I don't remember. I do, however, remember occasionally hearing (not listening to..) Jet Jungle.

Get Jet. Jet Jungle is the man to get.

Loved reading this!! I also grew up without TV and loved it!
Books were my friend and being read to a daily experience.
I still prefer podcasts over TV.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @mariannewest!

Books were my friend

And mine, too!

Thank you so much for sharing your memories with us Fiona 💞💞💞 Lots of lovee BeautyFull 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91