You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Basic Income Giveaway (Your country)

in #alldutchenglish6 years ago

I am having to come back and read some of these. This question could lead to some answers not all will like but remember we all come from different places.

  1. I live in the USA. I as born in Southern California one of the most liberal areas of the USA and have never moved away. The thing I love most about my country is the acceptance we have for some many things. Within blocks of my house we have a few Christian churches, Jewish temples, catholic churches, Muslim, Korean, and Chinese sorry don't know the names for all of them. We all live so close to each other interact with each other. Our kids go to schools together and races and religions intermingle and we all Americans. This has been testing in last few years and from the outside it might look like we don't like each other. But very few places in the world are like this. We fight with each other but it comes from the freedom we all feel. We have all been told we have this freedom and to never let anyone take it away from you. Why I will fight for rights of people even if they do things I don't like.

  2. I don't like our media and how it works. We have a lot of 24 hour news stations and it is law that all the major stations have to have some news. Yet our news has become more like shows. They are on one side our the other. They don't focus on things that really matter to me. They always spend a lot of time on the bad things that happen here. You can have a great day and come home and news looks like your country is failing. It is odd.

Sort:  

Well, from what I understand, California is pretty much a country in it's own right! It's great that it is a melting pot of different cultures and peoples generally living in harmony and creating an shared indentity!

I agree with you about the 24 hour entertainment news idea... most of the news should be boring and analytical, not something blown up to be exciting. Unfortunately, that is what sells, and so there is a huge market for that... pity, it really plays to the ingrained sub-surface tribalism in all of us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93