You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: -EZSTEEM SUITE 1.0- : The EZ way to setup your STEEM Miner/Node in a Linux VM [Windows Compatible]

in #allinone8 years ago

You've already set 4 threads to the VM. If you want to get more HPS, set 8 threads. And then youll have to set 8 threads in the mining config too. To modify the number of processors for the VM, right click on the VM in the VMware window (after you've shutdown your VM). Then go to settings and set processors to 8. To modify your config file, enter in these commands within the prompt after you've closed the miner:
cd /var/EZSTEEM/steem/programs/steemd/witness_node_data_dir && sudo nano config.ini
Then scroll down via arrow key to a line that says mining-threads = 4
Then change the number from 4 to 8
Press Ctrl + x and then press y
It should be saved now.
To resume mining, enter in this command:
cd /var/EZSTEEM && sudo bash EZSTEEM.sh
Then press option 6
If you want to avoid doing all of that, you can disable Intel Hyper-threading within your BIOS, then run the miner.

Sort:  

Done - great instructions, thank you. I actually used your first guide, the one-click setup one, so I managed to reread through portions of that to find the right folder and restart the miner program. At risk of becoming too much of a pest, may I ask you to point me in the direction of where I can learn more about this? How did you learn to do this? I mean, it is literally like another language... I want to understand the commands better, how to access all the folders etc., and how to maximize my system. I am still at 12-13khps and hovering around 3000 minutes. I want to speed this up! I see people hitting like 4/5 blocks per day. Thanks again @omotherhen. I owe you a scotch if you're ever in Michigan ;-)

@beastmastermason, if your cpu is tagged at 100%, unfortunately the only solution to get significantly more hashrate is to get a faster cpu. You should try the recompile command within EZSTEEM though, it's been updated to 0.12.2. To do this enter these commands: cd /var/EZSTEEM && sudo git pull && sudo bash EZSTEEM.sh
tldp.org is a good start to learn about linux and bash :) . Unfortunately I am not in Michigan! If you need further assistance do not hesitate to contact me in the Steem Slack

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69413.68
ETH 3688.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.36