LBRY - Decentralized Content Marketplace on the Blockchain

in #altcoin6 years ago


LBRY is a digital content marketplace where you can publish all sorts of digital content, either free of charge or for a set price in LBRY (LBC) credits.

You can use LBRY as an alternative to Youtube or Dtube, published videos can be viewed through the LBRY app or via a web-browser, but it's not limited to video content exclusively. You could also use it to publish books or games, allowing you to charge for downloads.

I've been following the development of LBRY for quite some time now and I've gotta say that I'm very impressed with the development so far. I'm seeing a steady increase in available content and the LBRY app is getting better and better.


Free LBRY Credits

After you've installed the LBRY app, you will be able to get some free credits just for using the app. In total, you'll be able to earn around 60 LBC, which you can then use to buy content or as an investment.

LBRY is currently trading for about $0.07 on Bittrex, so you'd be receiving around $4.20 in LBC for free.


Free & Paid Content

Currently, there's a lot of content available for free on LBRY. There are already some talented video creators who've joined and most of them share their videos without charge.

As LBRY grows, I imagine that more and more people will also put up paid content, which can be downloaded at a small cost. Allowing creators to earn for providing you with quality content.

Keep in mind that you also have the option to give out a tip on free videos, this would incentivize creators to make their content freely available.


Types of Content

At the start I was a little bit confused about what types of content LBRY accepted. When going through the app, it seemed as though only video content was available.

I later found out that you can share/sell just about anything. I've found some self-published e-books on there, as well as Photo shop source files for T-shirt designs. You can publish just about anything as far as I know.

One thing to keep in mind is that only video allows for instant streaming within the app, other file-types are presented as a download.


My Experience with LBRY

I've set up an account and channel on LBRY, which you can view here without downloading the LBRY app. It does look a lot better in the app itself, they're still working on displaying the content better on the web. If you already have the app, just look for @daan.

The whole experience of uploading and posting a video was extremely easy. I'm planning on publishing some blog posts there too, just to see what the response is. If I ever do start posting video regularly, I can easily cross-post them on Dlive and LBRY.

I've also found a couple of great content creators that I'll be supporting on LBRY from now on. I'm not planning on leaving Steemit, but I'm certainly going to spend some time on LBRY as well.

Download the LBRY app and check it out yourself!

All Images are screenshots from the LBRY application


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT

The 4 links above are referral links and support this blog


Sort:  

This looks like a really cool project. Thanks for making us aware of it. I am going to have to check it out when I get some free time!

This is really interesting thanks for sharing I must check it out

IMO the more places we post the better out chances of making profits... We don't know which blockchain or which platform will survive, if we develop roots in all of them we will for sure choose the winner! And it's not like it's that hard, we can post the same post on steemit and on other platforms!

Ceck out something called trybe.one, it's also a blogging/article platform that runs on EOS, it just started, i've been posting there my steemit posts and i've already made some trybe tokens, don't know how much they will be worth, if they will ever be worth, but the more the marrier!

Yeah, I think it's also quite a good investment tbh. LBC is currently at around 7 cents, but I suspect it might do very good in the future, when I see how good their app currently is.

I'll check trybe.one out too, looks promising!

Very cool! I am interested in both how crytpo can support creative content generation and in crypto which has direct uses as currency (rather than as a speculative trading token). Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

Yeah this is still very new, but if you go to their Discord, you can see that it's pretty successful on a small scale already. I'm seeing a lot of content posted every day. Heck, just for being active on their Discord, I've gotten nearly 400 LBC.

I checked out their discord and it looks pretty neat. I'm a bit wary of downloading the app until I understand how content distribution works. I'm a bit overly cautious here, but I don't want to unintentionally install an IPFS node sharing data willy-nilly.

Yeah that's something I have to look into myself. It does seem like you're also sharing the content once you've downloaded it.

https://lbry.io/faq/host-content

So long as we're only hosting what we've vetted, I'm ok with that.

Oh! This is lovely. I've seen ads about this platform but never bothered to know what it offers. I'm glad to read this, Thumbs up man!

I agree with the author, @daan!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 223 (8/11/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Wow - you do find some interesting stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95