You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CPU & GPU Mining from your laptop

in #altcoin6 years ago

Thanks for the useful information. You've clearly done you research, and it shows.

I tried using Minergate on my old laptop, and it didn't go so well. It was relatively old (5 years or so), and didn't have a dedicated GPU, so it didn't exactly set the world on fire with its hashrates. However, more troubling was the impact Minergate had on overall performance. It still ran itself in the background, and I had to use task manager to close it every time. However, my poor little laptops's electronic brain virtually imploded in an explosion of 1's and 0's, rendering it basically useless, as even task manager was freezing (which, as far as I know, is how black holes start). I eventually had to buy a new laptop, but I can't see myself using Minergate on this one.

I wish you the best of luck though. I think you've got the right idea by trying to round up affiliates, although I'm not too sure how one goes about doing that.

Sort:  

I doubt it had to do with minergate so much as old hardware. I have several computers 5+ years old that all mine perfectly fine and don't offer GPU based mining. One of my computers doesn't mine at greater than 27 H/s. It could have been that your hardware was on its last legs already.

Quite likely. Let's just say that I may have frequented PirateBay and other sites more than any law-abiding citizen ought to have done, and I have no doubt that this added to the untimely demise of my laptop.

Good luck with the mining @secret-guru!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69115.56
ETH 3736.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66