Bird Brained Idea: Claymore Miner - Minergate

in #altcoin6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180427_142243.jpg
It's Saturday and Eureka I found it. Found what you might ask. I found the solution to Clamore miner not working. I recently got a new Rx 570 video card to put on my second rig and have had nothing but trouble with it.

As I'm still new to this mining thing I'm not always sure what I'm doing which is off the case in most every day. For starters I'm using minergate to mine Monero and I've read the discussions on it being a scam, tho I have doubts. It, rather they, they seem to do what they say they do but I digress. Using their GUI miner was fine with nvidia cards on rig one. On rig two where the RX 570 resides, the Gui doesn't notice the card and declares GPU mining not available. Bummer indeed. So I ran through the checklist:

Drivers installed? Run lspci -nn | grep VGA
yep it says so but still getting errors of no device.

Read, read, read. Hmm ... Guess I'm going to have to try Claymore Miner. Found it. Got it. Ran it. Error. No openCL . Great. I'm not one to give up. So in keeping this post as short as possible let me say:
I tried install reinstall drivers, install reinstall OS, downgraded versions of OS, downgraded versions of kernel, install reinstall everything in triplicate. Still nothing. So in the end I found if I ran just the command to start Claymore with no parameters it suddenly started mining on some other address/account. Ahaa. Found it.
According to the instructions you got to use a file called epools.txt ...but the other address was a dead give away so a quick look back at the instructions and a look at the file config.txt and viola. I replaced the info in config.txt with the info to my account and ran the command nsgpucnminer with no other variables or parameters and low and behold I'm mining with my new GPU at a nice hash rate of 604h/s using pow7 - cryptonight
IMG_20180428_153942.jpg
Woo-hoo. So I guess what I'm saying in this post is don't quit. Don't assume anything. Try everything. Look, look, read, read and you may find it's simpler than you think. If only I had noticed it before all the uninstall reinstall that would have been nice, but hey, it's working and I learned a good deal of vital info.
Hope this helps.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your Linux troubleshooting insight. It'll certainly come in handy when I set up a second miner, probably using Linux to mine for the first time. ^~^

Linux is kinda fickle at times and can be a challenge, but hey, I'm an old dog and I can still learn new tricks. The good thing is there is a huge repository of information out there from some genius level geeks to guide you on your travels. I'm currently running Xubuntu 16.04 on both machines. Now that I got Claymore miner running I'm doing much better. I was sweating it and starting to get bummed out when in the end it was a simple config issue. It usually is.

I was stoked when I saw the 1st report of 604h/s with no modifications on the Rx 570. I've read some info on flashing the bios to get it near 1000h/s mining cryptonight by increasing clock speed and decreasing voltage but I'm gonna try and read more before I risk it. Clamored has some tweaks I can try first before I go to flashing bios's and risk trashing a $300 card. Good luck to you

So I'm looking at my dashboard and notice the top miner is mining at a rate of 380,000h/s. That's 600+ video cards at 300/card is 180,000 investment in equipment. For which it will take him 8 months to pay off the investment and the next year he'll make over 200,000. That's insane but I can see it now having a little experience.

Congratulations you were chosen for one of our five free daily resteems! Keep up the good work!

Resteem your Posts to 9550+ Followers — just send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also will receive a 100% upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + daily upvotes!

Wanna sell your Votes or looking for an Upvote-Bot? Try Smartsteem

Between the picture, and the topic (congrats on figuring it out, by the way), now I've got this running through my brain -


via GIPHY

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69300.96
ETH 3785.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68