Drawing a Girl - How to Draw Using Charcoal - Realistic Art

in #amazing6 years ago (edited)

cool2.jpg

IMG_1313.jpg
Hello, everyone, it's Vaan here and welcomes to my drawing guide. We break down the whole process of this drawing into separate sections. And then look at them all in depth learning new techniques and methods of drawing. The equipment and equipment and supplies we will need for creating this drawing. Now there's a lot of materials and equipment out there. For the paper that I draw and I use bristol board and it's a thick card that has a really smooth drawing surface. I really recommend using this stuff because you can apply a lot of pressure to it and it's not going to tear or bleed through on to the other side. You don't want to use anything like printer paper or anything like that because it's not good quality. Next up we have pencils and there are a lot of different brands out there I've only ever used Faber-Castell or Daler Rowney they seem to be perfectly fine to use but you should get a full set of them so you have a range of different grids to work with. And one white and one black Derwent charcoal pencils.

I mainly used maybe a 2b for sketching outlines and then a 4B onwards for drawing for the darker areas.

IMG_1240.jpg
First, one is going in freehand and judging the proportions by sketching them. If you do a lot of freehand drawing you will naturally become better at it and be able to sketch it more accurately. Here I'm firstly outlining her head and then once we have that down I'll start outlining the facial features. We have a big shadow down the side of his face and under the neck. We are going to start working on the drawing looking more in-depth for how to start laying down some realistic qualities that involve things like light and shadow.

IMG_1249.jpg
One of the eyes and I usually start by laying down those really solid outlines mainly the darker areas around the pupil and even some of the eyebrow above it now it's a bit of a commitment going straight into creating more solid outlines. until we get further into the eyebrow where it slowly fades into solid black but the shape still remains. We go we have drawn the eyebrow and now we have pretty much got the whole eye and the eyebrow. We have our outlines and we know where everything will need to go. It's just a matter of laying down some pencil and drawing in the skin. Forehead will have horizontal lands whereas under the eyes and around the cheeks there are a lot more shape and structure. I'm also using a piece of paper to rest on so that I don't smudge the drawing as I go along.

IMG_1287.jpg
So we the face finished but on the other side and ballooned around the neck we have this solid black shadow. Under the neck where the majority is just a solid black shadow there is this large area of color so you might not be able to achieve the solid black straight away. Applying a lot of pressure we can get something close to a solid black by using charcoal or charcoal pencils. I also work into the ears a little bit and I'm going to go ahead now and color in the hair.

IMG_1289.jpg
Finally, we have things coming together and looking more realistic we have a base layer and charcoal pencil shading down and we also have blended it to create a smooth gradient. Skin texture which can prove to be quite difficult. Sometimes helpful if you step back and look at the drawing from a different angle and see if everything is looking as good as you want.

IMG_1290.jpg
So now that that's done I'm going to move on to the arm and we have a similar texture. So it's pretty much the same process. I'm going to start back cleaning up these edges and going over these shadows a bit. these shadows a bit more on this side of the arm, it's more smooths out. Just by changing the pressure I apply to the paper with the pencil I can different shades and terms.

IMG_1293.jpg
We will have to produce you can see here on the top of the arm and mostly on the shirt because in between them there are the lighter areas and that will bring them out as well. We need to almost match the same turns as the shadow in order for it to stand out. I've also erased some areas of the shadow and filled it in with more of a texture once we have a texture laid down. Looking at the rest of the fabric here it seems to have these vertical lines all over most likely from the stage in our texture of the shirt. Follow the shape of the creases and the shadows on the clothing. When we got that done, we can then we can extend the shadow over the hairs by just going over with white charcoal pencil marks. I always suggest working from light to dark. This is the stage where it's good to review everything and to step back from the whole drawing and see what need more details.

IMG_1312.jpg
So there we go that pretty much concludes the whole drawing process and this realistic drawing with pencils and charcoal. I look forward to creating more in the future. I want to say thank you for commenting and voting on my pages. You guys are awesome!

Sort:  

Great drawings. Wish I could draw but nope no good at it at all. Thanks for sharing :)

You’re welcome thank you for your wonderful comment

great article , follow me @najapranata

Have u tried "Drawing on the right side of your brain" exercises?

THERE'S A BOOK that helped me :
https://www.amazon.com/Drawing-Right-Side-Brain-Definitive/dp/1585429201

Ck it out.
(Read reviews of)

Thank you for suggesting this! @janashby

Yes, surely. Have a Good week !

I love your charcoal work!!

Ah, these are digital electronic crayons????

Dear friend @vaansteam, I am very happy to know your work because I truly see that you are a professional. Although I must confess that I am not a cartoonist, but I do recognize something done with excellence.
On the other hand, I consider it a privilege to be on my list of followers, because your publications are learning.
I hope you answer me and at the same time examine my publications, I would like to know your valuable comments @trigalita.
FOTO.JPG
Apreciado amigo @vaansteam, me da mucho gusto conocer tu trabajo porque verdaderamente veo que eres un profesional. Aunque debo confesar que no soy dibujante, pero si reconozco algo hecho con excelencia.
Por otro lado considero un privilegio que estés en mi lista de seguidores, porque tus publicaciones son un aprendizaje.
Espero que me respondas y a la vez examines mis publicaciones, me gustaría saber tus valiosos comentarios @trigalita.

Thank you for taking your time to comment :) @trigalita

Nice Man... Pretty good skills! Where you learned that ? UPVOTE @vaansteam

Thank you! I learn it by drawing in spare time :) @dalexx

wow i love d way you present the steps am a big fan of art but aint good and sketching but am pretty good with adobe photoshop , maybe i will use this to try out my fingers i hv to RESTEEM THIS POST nice one
14940082_1208827192494346_4770074103994111832_o.jpg

I know abit of photoshop but I don’t know to use it for art. Hope I can learn something from you!

Great painting! I like drawing but ive never tried to draw with charcoal. I should try one day.

Charcoal is great! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66