Drawing Rey (Daisy Ridley) - The Last Jedi

in #amazing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1881.jpg

IMG_1828.jpg

Hello everyone Vaan here. In today's drawing, I'm going to be Drawing a Portrait of Rey in Star Wars the last Jedi using charcoal. The most important thing when you're starting a drawing is to stay with a great initial sketch and as you can see my sketch is a bit more complicated I haven't just got the basic features sketched out by also like to sketch out the contour areas for the shadows and the highlights so I know exactly where the main shadows are but also the highlighted areas. That is really important for me for when I go and shade it in. I'm shading the eye to start with, you can see that my sketch is nice and light so it won't come across too dark once I start shading you won't be able to see all of those lines through.

IMG_1833.jpg

What I do is I use a lighter shade pencil rather than dark pencils to do the light shading and I just apply a smooth layer of that and then I go in with the blending stump and I either like to use circular motions or I like to just sweep the blending stump from one edge to the other. I try to avoid doing zigzag motions and so again I'm just using the pencil to build up layers. It is important not to start too heavy and get everything done in one layer. I'm doing the eyebrows you can see that I'm kind of shading in the block area and in the direction that the eyebrow hairs. Her eyes were quite smoked as well so it's important to look at how these shadows change and realized that there is a lot of shadow in things like the white of the eye.

IMG_1834.jpg

With the skin, this is one of the hardest things to get right but also one of the easiest but I find that people find it really tricky and I think people are just overthinking it. Go in with a light pencil like a pencil, applying your shading so the most difficult part for people is to restrict the pressure that they apply on to the pencil and a few little hacks for that is to use the side of the pencil and to hold your pencil towards the back because this will naturally restrict the amount of pressure that you can apply onto that pencil can apply on to that pencil. What this means is that even if your pencil strokes look messy they need to still be somewhat smooth but look a bit messy. It doesn't matter because you haven't applied a lot of pressure onto that pencil so they're quite easy to blend out whereas if you apply a lot of pressure onto your pencil.

IMG_1835.jpg

Here are the basics to drawing her clothes firstly I went in I just used the black pencil of this and a blending stick. Her clothes were very dark so it was simpler to color then if it was had sort of more values because her clothes were basically pretty much black. There wasn't a lot of changing values. When I did my initial sketch what I did was I shaded in and I blocked in all of the main sections of the clothes. What I'm doing basically is I go in with my black pencil and the first sort of mark out the structure of the hair I get in the darkest areas and kind of transition between the outer edges into the middle the middle of each section was more of the highlighted area where it was a slightly lighter value.

IMG_1883.jpg

That's basically it. Thank you, everyone!


Sort:  

Thank you very much! :)

This piece is some sort of perfection. I just love the shading and all. I hope someone could draw me like this. I find your blogs interesting. I followed you more blogs to come :)

You’re pretty girl, I’m sure u will make a good model. And thank you for the support :)

The plate is brilliant, well worth admiring

Thank you, I appreciate that!

Amazing work and very helpful the way you explain the process of drawing!!!

Trying my best to not only draw but to explain how I done it thank you

So talented. Very nice drawing.

Thank you so much 😊

Thank you :)

I love Star Wars !! and are very talented x

Wow
This is such an amazing post that showcases raw talent and beauty in artistic creativity. I very much love this and I know what it takes to put this into your drawing pad. I know this from having engaged in a little art myself and I appreciate something that is beautiful and appealing when I see one. I have learnt something new here today by reading your post and I am very sure this would be of help to me as a start after abandoning drawing for quite a long time. Your post is a spur for me in the right direction.

I’m very glad you found my post to be helpful. I hope tou keep on drawing and just do what makes you happy. Good luck you. Best of luck!

awesome! i have a good look at the drawing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55