Wednesday WalksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #amazingnature5 years ago (edited)

This is not my first encounter with these stunningly beautiful bright-green lizards or geckos on the island. But it is the best close up photos I've managed to get as this little one seemed to have posed for me whilst I was merrily clicking away. As I did not have my camera with me my Huawei 16mp phone camera had to do the job.

This little fella was sitting on a neighbor's wall when I was out for a walk and of course I took some time to snap some pics. They are normally not so complacent in letting humans so close.

I can only find conflicting information on this reptile. Some call him a lizard, some call him an over-sized gecko. Some sites quote him to be endemic to Mauritius and on the endangered species list. Another site says it's an invader and that it's killing the endemic smaller geckos 🦎 off as they hunt and eat them.

Acoording to https://www.lavanille-naturepark.com/index.php/en/geckos-69 this is called a, MADAGASCAR DAY GECKO (Phelsuma Madagascariensis Grandis)
MAURITIAN DAY GECKO or BLUE-TAILED DAY GECKO (Phelsuma Cepediana)

No sure what to believe. I do think they are beautiful and perhaps there is space in nature for all God's creatures? 🤔

All photos my own

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -19.561287 lat 57.480469 long d3scr)

WorldMap banner.jpg
Banner created by @derekrichardson

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What great photos! I could be wrong, but I think ‘lizard’ is a general term for some species of reptile, so a ‘gecko’ is one kind of lizard (like black mamba is a species of snake and snakes are a kind of reptile).

@extie-dasilva I take note. I've Googled it and some sources calls it a gecko and some a lizard. To me this is a lizard. We have geckos too but they look different and are much smaller. So not sure. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dkkarolien
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-rc1tqqvh


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

geckooooo!!!!!! #3 is so stunning capture. I like it very much - such a cutieeee!

😂 😂 Just love the enthusiasm.. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

He is sooo shiny and green ^^ .. I assume he is a gecko according to his head shape and finger form but there are toooo many different out there and I only now so few of them .. Nevertheless this ony is a amazingly beautiful specimen ;)

Amazing photo :) Cheers :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for stopping by. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool looking green color. I like the 3rd picture with the tail hanging straight down :-)

Thanks for stopping by. I also like that one a lot. Looks like he's posing for me. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @futuremind.

Woo-hoo thank you @helpiecake and also for the Resteem 🙏❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @dkkrolien Oh i just knew there is a gecko that is green like this ! Are they poisonous?

Hi thank you for stopping by. I'm not sure whether they are poisonous. My husband and son picks them up so I don't think so. But I do love their vivid colors.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86