I am a sellout

in #amazon5 years ago

I did it. I did the dirty deed. What was I to do? I just signed up for Amazon Prime and joined the evil empire. I loaded up my cart with things to buy for the house and for the holidays.

Here is my excuse. I live in Green Bay, WI. There is nowhere shop. Toys R Us closed, Younkers closed, Sears closed. And did i mention the roads are filled with rain, ice, and snow all weekened?

Of course we did this to ourselves through our myopia, through sending all our money to China, and our multinationals as well. We bought in and have paid the price. It would be worth it if sustainable growth were happening there, but it's mostly extractive.. but i won't get too far off topic.

So yes, I'm a hypocrite, the perfect fit for the world we live in. Ho ho ho and Merry X-mas and all that jazz.

Let's keep building new options... and avoiding mirrors in the meantime.

Peace on the STEEM Blockchain @ClumsySilverDad

Sort:  

While I don't like some of the directions the company is edging into, I have to admit that Amazon and its Prime membership does offer value to its customers and users. I'm not a member anymore (not much benefit when living in Central Asia), but about once a year I still take shameless advantage when they offer me a new free trial... usually around Xmas time when I'm in the US.

As long as it's not the ONLY place you shop (and hence you become overly dependent on it), on the scale of "selling out" I say it's only like a '3' out of '10'. Overall, I think Amazon is just a tool... and you can take that however you wish ;)

yeah, it's not a good feeling making the richest person on the planet even richer, but it's so damn convenient, it's like a drug really. but of course i notice that now I signed up for a month of Prime I am buying too much... or am i just catching up on some thing i should have been buying? Consumption is addictive..... we are surrounded by that culture. Peace

Come, it's fun on this side cough

Posted using Partiko Android

I mean aren’t we all 🤷🏽‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was leary, but was living in So. Cal. I went all in joining the evil empire so that I could maintain some sanity. You can never go back, that's for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23