Happy Independence Day [Why I Love America]

in #america6 years ago


Hey guys!

Here is a little video about what Independence Day means to me.

I get it. Our country needs some help. We aren't perfect. We need some major overhauling.

But, that's no reason to throw everything down the toilet.

I still celebrate America because one day it will live up to its greatness. I really believe that.

Plus, it's a good excuse to eat yummy food and blow shit up! YeeeHAAAAW! Mmmmerica!

Have a wonderful Wednesday friends!

xx - Beth


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Like they say there's no place like home - happy independence day Beth

It's so true!! Thank you!

Happy Independence Day to you guys

Thanks!! I can't wait to shoot off some fireworks!

Why won't you love the greatest country in the world? Everything is to be loved about America. Even the little challenge you guys are facing over there can't be compared to what is happening else where. Your country is a great country like mine. Lol

Some people are hard to please! I am grateful to live here!

You just can't please everyone. No one can actually please everyone. So you have to please the once you can and the once you can't please for others to please.

Hard to please? People expect us to respect lies told in 1776, when we were still getting lynched in 1960 in public with no consequence. We still get lynched today on the low. The Black Panthers don't exist anymore, but the KKK still does. Every day I hear around Steemit and Discord about how "The white man is losing." I look outside my window and it does not reflect that at all. Our contribution to this country is constantly degraded and just outright forgotten. Every day, I pass Confederate monuments. Every day I pass the church where Patrick Henry said "Give me Liberty or Give Me Death!" while his ass was taking other people's liberties. We gotta start keeping it real. 100% real, not some candy coated version of history or it will never change. IT DOES NOT MAKE SENSE FOR BLACK PEOPLE OR GOOD WHITE PEOPLE TO CELEBRATE THAT. LET'S BE REAL ABOUT WHOSE INDEPENDENCE WE ARE TALKING ABOUT.

To be clear, I do not expect you to be ashamed of America. You had nothing to do with any of that. But your attitude about people who rightfully do not agree are an example of why it will never change.

When I said people are hard to please I was actually referencing my libertarian friends who don't think America is free enough.

And I acknowledged what you are speaking of in my video. It is difficult and complicated for many different people in the United States because of our "freedom timeline". I totally get that. Keep in mind however that poverty kept people nearly as separated as race did.

My family on my dad's side came over here as indentured servants and had zero rights. They fought in wars they didn't choose to and died young, gruesome deaths. Then the MEN started to earn rights by the early mid-1800s, but the women absolutely didn't. Even black men could vote after the Civil War and women still had to claw their way to any kind of independence still well into the 20th century.

My grandmother was sexually abused and tortured by a rich Jewish family in Chicago where she was a second generation immigrant lady's maid (on my mom's side). Nearly 10 years of that before she met my grandfather and they lived in the ghetto and in absolute squalor attempting to survive the Great Depression.

I'm saying this not to demean or make light of the plight of black history, but to recognize that many different colors and cultures have not been given a fair shake in the US.

Just like with voting, a black man became president before a white woman. We are still further behind if you are using that as a barometer for success. Unfortunately, if you weren't a straight white man up until the 60s, your life wasn't the most free, it's true. Anyone who skirted the outside was in danger. POC, gays, women. Women may not have been taken out publicly and beaten, but it was sure as shit legal in your own home. What better way to get women to submit to you than to keep them in constant fear of their life. What a way to live heh?

But is it my attitude that will be the reason why things will never change? Because I want to see past all the bad shit that happened and look forward to a better future?

I am not supposed to celebrate a holiday that landed both of us here, right now? In 2018 where we are still significantly more free than most nations? The past is laced with terrible things, but we only poison our future if we choose to live in our past.

We still get lynched to this day by the police and racists. Prisons are the new institution of slavery. I agree that this country is just as much sexist as it is racist, maybe even more. That is true. 100% facts. But you want to look past it? You accept it? I hold ALL women in the highest regard because they did not make ANY of the decisions that make this world a f'd up place. Women caused none of this.

I'm not here to play the struggle olympics. There's no win. I'm not trying to shame you. It's very hard for good people to grasp this sometimes. It's heavy af. This is not the land of the free you hold so dear. How can it be with the most people incarcerated for some of the most petty crimes, some of which are not even crimes in some parts of the country.

My homie got 1000 years for robbery, a very serious crime. Two he did. Seventeen he didn't. Does he deserve to be in prison? Hell yea! 1000 years? He cannot be redeemed for stealing? Seriously? But yet we can excuse the blatant treachery that is being done every single day in the name of America? Prison is helping him become better I admit, but for what? He will never see the light of day. I wish I or anyone could've steered him in the right direction, but I was a kid too doing the same shit, but I was worse cuz I was taught better. I got lucky. I saw a white man get 3 years for raping 20 women. wtf man. My homie got 100 years and hurt no one.

America and what it says it is is a good idea and something we can work towards, but we must be honest with one another about the problems we have. We don't have to place blame. Just acknowledge and have compassion for others. Recognize others' strife and help even when it doesn't affect us. I'm not saying you don't because I don't know. I'm just saying

FLINT STILL DOES NOT HAVE CLEAN WATER! AMERICA GIVES NO FUCKS ABOUT THE POOR NO MATTER WHAT COLOR.

Your love with your homeland is reflecting in your post. Wihing you and all the people of USA around the world a very happy & safe independence day

I just resteemed your post, because I feel the exact same way, so I might as well just let you say it for me. Because I'm a spoiled American, and why work harder than I have to. 😎

Bahaha.

Dropping those truth bombs doe.

Thanks!

@bethwheatcraft Happy 4th of July! No matter what anyone says, America is a GREAT COUNTRY! Hopefully it remain that way.

Thank you! I agree! And I hope it remains that way too!

Happy Inpendence day beth .

Thanks for sharing @bethwheatcrat
Upvote you .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10