You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wedding Planning

Aw, man, that sounds truly awesome! Being there completely, full body, mind , and soul. It sounds nice having a strong pagan community there, who take it seriously. Do you happen to know @nacktepoesie? A steemian from Germany with many interesting paganist posts. I think she's Berlin based, but unfortunately she hasn't been active for more than half a year.

Sort:  

Thank you so much! I can't wait until next summer for the wedding! No, I do t know her, but I will give her a follow and hope she eventually comes back! Thanks again!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I certainly hope she does! ...as will all the other inactive people I'm following. Just the other day I went through the list of those I follow, and I was shocked at how many of them haven't posted in a year, or two years...! I can kinda see how that happened, but it makes me a bit sad, as I used to look up to so many of them as successful steemians, back when I was but a wee little minnow.

Btw you said you lived in Germany? Are you German? Or just a world-traveling man?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahahaha, yes I have a German passport, so that would make me a German, at least legally. Originally I am of Hungarian ethnicity, I was born there, and speak the language (an important factor), though other than that I don't really feel a strong association to either country. Having spent about the same time in America (the US and Canada) as in Europe, I would say that culturally I'm at least as much American as Hungarian or German, though I don't have any paperwork to show for, whatsoever. Currently I'm living in Mexico, where I'm a permanent resident, married to a Mexican wife, and more or less acculturated, so I guess I can extend the list with Latin American, too. The only thing is: the longer the list is getting, the weaker each culture becomes. In the end I just may end up as nothing more than a foreigner, no matter where I go.

Wow, what a crazy background? I can see how that might get a little confusing. I think it's rather easy to share German/American culture. Wisconsin (Where I come from) was founded by Germans so not much has changed since then unless you live in the city. Pretty crazy where life takes us! I bet it's weird when you run into someone from your childhood and they are in the same place doing the same old thing 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

So true... Funny thing is, when I meet some old friend who's been living in the same place all his life, it gives me an image of well-rootedness, with friends and family all close by. While they look at me with such wonder and admiration, as if I was accomplishing an astounding achievement just by living in the places he only knows from TV.
But this is nothing new. There have been songs written about this, as old as time.
"...and I wouldn't trade your whole life for just one hour of home."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87