Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 110

So.... I pretty much immediately crumbled.



Source

I looked for my fitbit for a bit... realized it was pretty much a fitbit in a haystack bunch of grass, gave up and immediately ordered a new one... it should be delivered tomorrow. (Side note : How does Amazon make any money?)

This means though... that I went on a run today without tracking it... what's the point of that... I mean, sure I'm fitter and a bit more conditioned, but without fitbit tracking it, it seemed like such a waste. Man, I've so been primed to just accept AI as my overlord and master, sheesh.

Anyway, I did about 3.8km... but still had to walk in the last 10 minutes... so I'm not thrilled with that.. but it was definitely less uncomfortable than every previous effort last week. So, improvement, yay!

Smashed out this guy:


tryouts fitness checklist.png


AWNE Test26th Feb5th March12th March26th March16th April23rd April30th April15th May
400m1:49.211:43.541:45.211:49.571:40.102:00.071:46.911:47.17
3 min deadhang1:40:031:11:201:30:491:09:1201:13.201:19.41:21.161:02.12
16 pull ups1616161616161616

I was super sore from yesterday, especially in the hamstrings and lower back, so my run wasn't great... but it wasn't terrible either... I definitely felt strong at the end, which is definitely positive. Still not getting any closer to that 1:30 second time I'm aiming for.

As soon as I jumped into the deadhang I realized...



Source

... instant regret.... my hands would have straight up murdered me if they could move. After yesterday's ninja play, plus wood choppin' plus lawn mowin' plus country livin', they were toast... and I only lasted a minute in the deadhang, and every second sucked.

But that's how we grow right? By doing things that suck.

Chased that suckage down with some slackline practice and balance worked... and then by the time I was completely over it... I did 24 jump squats... just to make sure my body really hates me. We might be divorced tomorrow.



Doing balance work every day has already proven itself worthy of that time investment, I'm so much better than I was... really excited to stick with it.




Cardio

  • 30 minute run


AWNE Test

  • 400m sprint
  • 1 minute dead hang
  • 16 pull ups


Balance

  • 15 minutes slackline, rollerboard and pipe.


Jump Squats

  • 4 sets of 8 reps.



Had a bath to start off, to try and reduce the DOMS in my legs and lower back. It worked a treat... but then I was running overheated... so still need to work that all out.




Yoga sessions (0/2 Completed)
Slackline practice (1/7 Completed)




100 Rep Challenge

  • 30 minute run = 100 reps
  • Pull ups = 16 reps
  • Jump Squats = 28 reps

@steemmatt's fitness challenge for Monday - 144 reps



Spartan Sprint Portland - 25th August


Move mob for daily post.png

MoveMob - no fitbit.. no idea... 3.8kms?


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

without fitbit tracking it, it seemed like such a waste.

Seriously?! LoL XD

My partner has one of those tracking apps, I don't know if he has a purpose for them or if he's doing it just out of curiousity. I don't really see the point in them but I guess if you're curious or have a workout plan? Or part of of a Movement Mob XD

Having said that I've found Ingress and PoGo actually good in giving me some direction. If I know I have time (which is basically never now) I do the long portalstop route. If I don't, I do the short portalstop route. And that way I got home and all the things got done. Otherwise what sometimes used to happen before I started playing is that I would just kind of walk and seeing as I can probably walk forever I would end up halfway or all the way to the next suburb and then get home late and be in trouble for missing dinner and bedtime XD Without the games I would probably still be doing that x_x

Yay for improvement, and just remember there's pushing yourself and pushing yourself and one of those things you don't want to do XD

goatsig

Seriously!
There is something that breaks in your brain.
The delight you feel when you see those little numbers go up when you're really active, immediately turns into a drug-like dependency to keep racking up those numbers.... that's why TV shows like Black Mirror are so scary, it's so close to what could happen.

I use mine to track my runs since I'm not using Strava... but I think for most people, if it gets them out and walking or running to satisfy their number-raising OCD then more power to them. Ingress and Pogo are amazing apps for this exact reason, Ingress especially...

Hahahaha, that last sentence is amazing!

I haven't checked in for so long. I love the way you push yourself. I do not have that same drive for fitness. Very impressed with your pullups. After a long hiatus from any kind of strength training I was very sad that I can no longer do even one.

The slacklining is a great idea. I always felt like that was something that helped in balance and focus in all areas of life. Plus it is just a lot of fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91