The sound of real tape vs an emulation

in #analog5 years ago (edited)

I do love using retro audio formats, in fact I have draw full of sealed audio cassettes, I don't really know why but they do look pretty cool.
I have vinyl too and I love buying a record I've owned at least 5 time before in the past, I may have gone from the original vinyl release through CD and now part of my Spotify play list but I've never owned it on heavy weight 180 gram vinyl which for some reason very satisfying..

As an audio engineer I have to be quite a bit more discerning when it comes to utilising bygone formats. The advent of digital technology in music recording has been revolutionary and in my opinion has brought 'sound quality' on in leaps and bounds. The degenerative process of bouncing down tape passages and the shear time consuming nature of tape editing is thankfully no longer a necessity but that doesn't mean to say tape is a thing of the past.

I am still using analog tape in 2019 as part of my mixing and mastering set up and it's not for any esoteric reason but for the simple fact that in some circumstances in sounds great! Like any other effect digital or analog, it doesn't alway do the trick but when it does, its like magic. Here's a video I prepared with some comparisons of the 'Reel' thing vs an emulation and then digital. For me, it depending on the different parts of the song as to which format I preferred.

Sort:  

Hello @nickdawes! I am unsure how I missed your post. It is really interesting that you are still doing the "old" style of recording. I do not think many people still do this.

I am noticing you haven't posted in a while and would like to see more. We at @heyhaveyamet have set up an autovote so we do not miss another post by you (we go back and see what posts we have autovoted). Look forward to seeing more from you.
Ren

I would love yo see another blog from you

I just followed you @nickdawes, because I used to use the Sony reel to reel tape decks for recording, and I worked in a church doing the recordings through a Peavey 16 channel mixer, onto cassettes. This is exactly like the SLR 35 mm cameras vs. the DSLR cameras, and I don't own a DSLR, but an old Minolta XD 11 35 mm. I like the old stuff a lot!

Following for sure!!
I used to play drums back in the day... loved the studio experience! Our demo was recorded on ADAT...but the gentleman has now moved up in the world. Al Phillips of Catalyst Studios...

Would love to see more information from you my friend!

The mix is great. It is not really my field of work but I am quick learner.
Thank you for sharing your work with us.
Peace

This was well done, video is so helpful :D when will you do next?

Congratulations @nickdawes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62