Getting Started with R - Baby's first steps at modern computer aided statistical analysis - How to maintain excitement while learning online

in #analysis6 years ago (edited)

So as many of you may know, I am always trying new things. Currently, I fancy myself 'back at school', trying to learn some new computer skills while I have the chance to be connected to stable and constant internet access. I will be changing up my posting style for awhile while I do this, posting some articles about this process. If these do not interest you, I will not be offended if you do not read them. I have not changed as a person, but those that have followed me for long enough know that I am 'un-nicheable' and that I post about different things in different seasons of life.

One thing that I learned a lot about in college is statistical analysis. I used SPSS to wrangle data for over a year as a research assistant at UW's Fiscal and Economic Research Center. Currently, the open source equivalent of a program like this is called 'R', and I want to document my progress here on steem while I start over with this new, open-source program.

r site.jpg
R is free to download and managed open-source

Earlier this year, I purchased a discounted year long membership to Datacamp. I will probably mention the site more throughout my process, and may even do a full review of it eventually. For now I can say that it is working fine for reviewing the basics.

So here I am, all alone in my room, learning how to add and subtract and take the simple mean() in a new program, and I get the desire to try it out on real data! I head over to Data.gov and looked for some cool open data about the USA, and ended up picking something that I thought was simple but powerful, demographic information by ZIP code!

SO MUCH DATA!!!!

I've installed the program, I know how to add and subtract, I've downloaded a whole big data set....I am ready to go!

The only problem? I haven't yet learned how to import any data into R!

Here is the youtube video that I found to help me figure out how to open up a file in R:

Alright! Now I have everything I need to know, right?

I import my data, I list the variables, and I pick one that I might want to do something with! The only commands I have learned to far are mean and sum, so I decide to check what is the average percentage of US citizens across all ZIP codes, I mean, immigration is a HOT topic right now!

But wait.... It doesn't seem to be working.....

first console output.jpg
The variables have imported as strings, not numbers, I will need to clean this data before any 'statistics' can be done.

Well, back to datacamp I go....

It was a small, but interesting field trip from my video courses, and I thought I would share it with you all today. I will continue to learn more, and hopefully provide updates as I spend more time in front of the computer POWERING UP my skills c;

Love and Light to All!

PS - our daily videos might be a little less daily for awhile, but I will still stream occasionally, work on my back log of posts and hope to have a few chores or chats a week for you all!

Sort:  

a friend of mine (he helps run our witness server) is a true wiz in R, he wrote a whole interface for accessing the data at my old employers...
I might ask him to check out your progress and maybe give some pointers if he has the time...

That is fantastic! Maybe wait until I get a few more posts out, unless he'd like a good laugh at reading this very first start ;p

Great to hear from you Felander! Going to check out your blog to see what you've been up to!

Learning something new stimulates the brain and keeps us from developing nasty things like Alzheimer's disease. It keeps us young to learn new things. The day you stop learning is the day you die.

Oh really? That is fantastic, and I love that there are side benefits to learning! I think even if learning made me crazy I would keep doing it, but now I can tell people that learning is making me less crazy!

Looks like a cool program! I hope you get it figured out. I always wondered how some people, like some YouTubers I watch, crunch the numbers if huge data sets they're analyzing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! I am also hoping to capitalize on all the statistical math I learned in college...big data sets are fun! As I keep learning, I'll take requests from fun friends like you!

Aw, I'm a fun friend? Thank you! ^_^

I am still finding it very difficult to use SPSS to analyse data. Perhaps I will do intensive study and practice on it.

Hello Max! I haven't heard of many people using SPSS nowadays, seems like it got purchased by IBM...whatever the case my university had a copy for me and nowadays I try my darnedest not to pay for software if I can avoid it!

Congratulations on 50 reputation! I just noticed, now I see you got curied with your blue pen drawing, going to check it out! Did you by chance get your byteball airdrop yet by linking your steem account? The amount gets much higher once you have a 50 reputation!

Well a friend of mine has been using it to prepare a project for people and I have been contemplating on walking up to him to teach me how to use it.

Thanks for the congratulatory message. I have downloaded and tried to install the bytball app on my phone but to no avail. Looks like it doesnt support my phones' version.

Alright! It is a powerful scripting program, we did lots of regression analysis on huge data sets with it! R is similar but open sourced and free - are you looking for a skill with which to earn some money? That's what I'm hoping; have you learned a lot about statistics?

Oh thats interesting! Are you using an android phone? Its possible your phone has saved you a lot of money by not being compatible! So far they have no plans to cancel the program - maybe you will be reputation 60 when you get a new phone!

No am not looking for a skill in which to get money. I just want to have a knowledge of it.

Yea am actually using an android phone and you are right it is not compatible with it. I just hope they stick around for a while so I get a new phone and get my own share of byteball. But this is where I need you guys most to support me inorder to get another device.

Gracious.

howdy sir ecoinstant! haha! hey it's great to know that you area a learning machine! it will be interesting to follow your progress on this!

Hi @ecoinstant!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.166 which ranks you at #2823 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 34 places in the last three days (old rank 2857).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 282 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83