You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Net Neutrality is a Lie — Let the Free Market Reign

in #anarchism6 years ago

The arguments against net neutrality make sense if there is competition in the market, as anyone who takes advantage of consumers will be punished severely.

@sterlinluxan is there competition in the market?

Sort:  

My thoughts exactly, I was going to make a similar comment 🙂

It seems to me that large corporations get it both ways: regulation they want, and dismantle regulation they don't, or effectively sidestep it. I'm not sure where I land on the net neutrality issue but I know that the argument of any deregulation is always good fails on this point.

I'm placing my trust in the ability of Americans to throw their toys out of the cot if they even slightly get inconvenienced by a service.

Any ISP who thinks it will get away with what it wants to get away with, is going to get a very sore butthole :D

That's my prediction for 2018.

Yes, there is some competition. Smaller ISPs struggle to get more customers due to the high costs of infrastructure, meaning they stick to a particular area. Even so, there are enough options so that you're not stuck with only one ISP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86