You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why the Pilgrims Abandoned Common Ownership for Private Property

in #anarchy5 years ago

I was an anarchist for a couple of years and abandoned it because you just can't get people to do their share! They have to be forced to do it. On the other hand, I live in a wonderful small community where we barter and share with no profit motive in mind, and although it's not a "living" it makes the living so much better. I don't have to try to grow tomatoes on my shady bit of land. I can trade blueberries for them. It's not quite utopia, but it's been a way for the small farmers in the area to mutually benefit. But it only works if everyone is willing to give equally, and that's hard to come by. Thanks for the informative post! It will definitely give me something to think about on Thursday!

As an aside, the lesson I took from my foray into anarchism is that any social structure works when the sample is small enough. Even communism. The problems seem to arise when too many people are involved. It's too hard to get them on the same page, and one by one they slip through the cracks, assuming someone else will be there to pick up the slack. So it's really a human problem.

Sort:  

“ I was an anarchist for a couple of years and abandoned it because you just can't get people to do their share! They have to be forced to do it”.
Kinda sounds more like a problem one would have with communism. But I get what you’re saying. It really doesn’t matter what system is in use. Unless the people involved are of good character and are willing to take personal responsibility for their choices and actions, there will certainly be issues.

But on another note, I owe you my steem bucks or whatever its called for your help with my “message”.
I finally finished the big greasy jobs on the crane and applied the vinyl lettering and touched up the Rustoleum.

Can you please help me with transferring. And don’t you dare say no. I know that I couldn’t have much but I want you to have whatever there is.
Cause you are nice and I like you. :)

B71DA891-CCDD-4B8B-A2FB-FA8187CCD5A5.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68548.71
ETH 3847.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73