Treasures in Heaven: More Than Money, I Hope to Leave My Son a Legacy of Disobedience.

in #anarchy6 years ago

file1941291214177.jpg

True Legacy.

What can I leave my son that will benefit him later in life after I am gone? What can I set in motion now so his future is more secure? Yes, I can begin to save and plan for his future. This is wise. I can put money away--cryptocurrency, gold, etc--and set the ball rolling on numerous other plans that will most likely result in him not being in want for material things later in his life. This I most definitely must do, as his father, protector, friend, and guide.

But what security can I leave him, if the "powers that be" all over the world are violent psychopaths? Will money save him? It may be an invaluable tool in persuasion and perhaps legal protection when the creeps called "the state" are too close for comfort. But still, these are violent sociopaths we are talking about, who have constructed a giant human slave farm, based on violence (if you think this is an exaggeration you have not studied history, economics, or the current geopolitical state of affairs deeply enough). These folks don't give a fuck if my son lives or dies, and that is the sad, cold, hard, truth.

So if money and material legacy can fail, then what can I leave my son that I am truly proud of? What can I leave him of true, irrefutable pricelessness, which is not held in the temporal confines of time? Which is not stored in the faulty financial institutions of violence-based nation states, but in his heart, soul, spirit and mind and as a result of his actions, in the minds and hearts also of others?

I can leave him a legacy of profound disobedience to illegitimate "authority." I can teach him how to love himself, and to love others, being willing to stand up and fight for himself, and others, when necessary. This would be a legacy more valuable than gold, which even death itself could not erase.


987401794542161afa3c6a599a782e7c.jpg

A quote comes to mind. One of my favorite quotes, though I cannot remember where exactly it comes from:

"The chronicle of man's progress is a history of authority refuted."

How great is that? How true. Every great leap in science, philosophy, the arts, or even for me, in my personal development, has been an instance of an "authority"--be it a church leader, teacher, preacher, cop, politician, family member, or even deeply ingrained belief I've ingested almost unknowingly from the culture--being called out, questioned, and ultimately dismissed and discarded as fraudulent and useless. Thrown to the trash heap, and left to burn in the fires of logic and love.

What is "the meaning of life"? Is it one crashing chord?

There are a couple videos on YouTube featuring snippets taken from Alan Watts speeches where he is talking about a very strange phenomenon in our culture. Or, rather, I guess the state of being he describes is as old as humankind itself. He talks about a symphony. We don't go to the symphony only to see the final crashing chord of the finale. We go to experience the movement of the piece as a whole. Without all the movement and sounds and silences prior, the epic final sections of the music are stripped of their moment. Gutted of their real feeling and true importance.

In another such video (the animations and speeches are brilliant, by the way, and I highly recommend looking them up) he talks about the scam that has been foisted upon us by culture, of constantly and perpetually waiting for "tomorrow." Some vague and ill-defined moment in the future when we will have finally "made it," and when "real life" can begin.

oxford-blue-house-terrace.jpg

When we're in preschool they tell us "You'll graduate soon and be a BIG KID! Things will be sooo wonderful then!!!" Then, when we are "big kids," they tell us that once we finish grade school we can go to HIGH SCHOOL where we will be so cool. And then, once that is finished we will have finally made it to college! In college we will finally start studying for what we will do in "real life" when it begins! It's just around the corner! Once "real life" begins, we now realize we must get married! Then we will be happy! We must get that promotion! We must! And then! And then I will be able to truly be in the moment. Then I will enjoy my kids and wife! Just a little bit more, then we can take that big vacation, THEN. THEN. THEN.

The animation ends with a little man at the top of a high rise building receiving that promotion and little sack of money. He has missed his life by waiting for it to begin.

Bitcoin millionaires and your line in the sand.

Making a little extra money from crypto-blogging here on Steem has already made my life better. I fucking love making money. There are many new millionaires as a result of the advent of Bitcoin and the rising popularity of Steem and cryptocurrencies in general. I just wonder how many of these individuals, say, three years ago were saying, After I make that first million from crypto, I'll be set!

You know what I bet? I bet that the majority were beset with a whole new set of anxieties, fears, and shit to take care of, and that most cannot really enjoy the success they've had. This is not necessarily all their fault. The government punishes making money and wealth, so that is definitely one legitimate thing to be concerned with. That said, do you see what I mean? They fell into the trap of living for that distant "someday." Now "someday" is here, and they're still not happy, so they'll have to create a new "someday" in another phony future.

To really enjoy money, you've kind of also got to not give a damn about it, as much as you give a damn about who you are.

I thought the other day that if I had mega millions, everything would be set, and my family would be fine, and I could buy my way out of anything. To some extent this might be true. The thought that came next surprised me, though. So what. That was the answer that came. So what.

What value can I impart to my son? What legacy can I leave my family if the sole basis of said legacy is material? This is only part of the equation. Maybe we'll have soft, fluffy white towels, three or four nice cars, and plenty of fucking lawyers for the rest of our lives. Comfort without passion is meaningless, and indeed, is a form of torturous absurdity. There's another great quote along these lines, but I cannot remember it now, or who said it. Without appreciation, no amount of riches matters, and without a sense of one's own self-worth, values, and integrity, appreciation of anything is really impossible.

With an understanding of one's of self-worth, comes the ability to commit the ultimate blasphemy where "society" is concerned, and say "no" to violence against any and all peaceful human beings, including oneself. This is what I most deeply want for my little boy. And, to tell the truth, he already has it. We all do. It just needs to be developed, I guess, and given a voice.

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Tube Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Wonderful work .. well done
Our goal must be to create a generation that lives and dies for justice and good values that will improve their lives
Money and what life gives them opportunities are just means

Yes. Money is a tool. For sure.

IMHO Teaching a child the art of critical thinking is one of the best things you can ever do for them.
They'll never fall for fake news and government propaganda thereby never ending up in the herds of subservient sheeple that inhabit our world.
They'll self teach and pass it on to their own kids too. There is no better thing than independent thought, it saddens me how little of it there is in the world these days, too many are happy to have 'facts' spooned to them by an increasingly controlled media and bought and paid for political marionettes.
Inspirational words Graham.

IMHO Teaching a child the art of critical thinking is one of the best things you can ever do for them.
They'll never fall for fake news and government propaganda thereby never ending up in the herds of subservient sheeple that inhabit our world.

Yes. My son, for better or for worse, at age 5 already talks about "the government." :)

You're a good Dad Graham.
I'm sure he'll have a healthy mistrust of those who seek to rule over us. It's not a bad thing, better to know early than to find out later in life that everything you've believed was based on lies.

They teach us to obey but not to be happy...

Thats exactly what I teach my children. And I am delighted to say that my 18 year old son spent many of his school years disobeying teachers who didnt deserve respect whilst respecting those who did.

within our needs is transcend that is the first reason why we have children and then we ask ourselves that we can leave them to this, the first are values ​​that we promote with education later the desire for constant development and for me, the fact is also important that he learns to develop criticism in order to contribute to the world

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, principles and ideas. It appeals to me all and it’s fits my motto. I always say: Life is for living!

Greetings,
Ray #lifeisforliving

We human need something to keep going on. Money is something that everyone wants. When they will have it, they would obviously wish for something else and i think its all right. We all need to have a motive, a purpose, an aim but whats more important is the PATH. The direction you choose to reach there is more important and that you enjoy it. We should all teach our children to enjoy this life, no matter if u have something or u dont. We need to teach them that always, something or the other would be missing in our life but we should focus on what we already have :)

Nice article. Keep it up :)

I like reading your posts, I dont know how you do it, but it's very easy to understand them even for non-native English speakers. You must try your skills in writing, really, you can make a text easy to understand and enjoyable for reading, it's a talant-)sometimes the idea is great but narration fails, anf it's impossible to read and like, you're the opposite)

about the topic - of course, it's great. you know, when i was reading the first paragraphs I just catched the idea that you (and we all) must benefit to our kids not money but the right vision of the world and life (or how to say - the right perception, right outlook), and then it will be basis for his future success and harmony with life. It took us long yeard to get it but we can help kids to save time and give them the right direction. The experience must be individual, but the direction should be promted by the family. I agree with your opinion.

Thank you. I'm really glad to hear that. Always appreciate your comments!

"So what?" It's really always been that simple to me. Lots of people in my life could never understand why I wasn't impassioned by making money. I needed to put my time and energy into things that actually mattered to me; projects that created products and circumstances that affected my life for the better. Very nice post, I hope your son understands that legacy.

Thanks for sharing
Beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50