You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CALLING ALL AR-15 OWNERS!!...

in #anarchy6 years ago

Just one point on the wording. 'Refuse' sounds a little like you're being uncooperative. My children might refuse to go to bed, despite an obligation to do so.
"Decline" sounds better, as it has overtones of politeness and doesn't carry any 'refusing to meet an obligation' baggage.
That might just be to my Australian ears, though; just putting it out there.

Sort:  

Except "decline" sounds like it's in response to a polite request. "Laws" are demands, backed by threats of force, not polite requests. One does not "decline" to obey crappy "laws"; one refuses to obey crappy laws.

Agreed, refuse is the better word here.

The rhetoric "decline/refuse" cuts both ways and misses the mark. Behind these substitutions what you are really saying is "shall not be infringed". It seems obvious to me that whatever substitution you choose for whatever reason, if you don't follow it somewhere in the script with "shall not be infringed" then you come off with pleading posture. I don't plead for inalienable rights, never have, never will. Also, 'round here (rural NY) we got police officers with "repeal the safe act" signs in their home front yards so there is common ground to respect and share.

I don't own an AR15, not that they are scarce in my neck of the woods, or ever will be. I prefer a Remington Model 870 12 Gauge loaded 00 Buckshot always within reach. Out here, in the dead of night, just the sound of a load being chambered sends the junkie thieves running, and I hate to waste ammo. Most people 'round here hunt coyotes with AR15's as best practice. It saves a lot of fawns. You simply can't save that many fawns without an AR15. Neither will you ever get any traction in that conversation with city folk. As a rule I don't kill anything I don't eat so I don't hunt coyotes. When other things get unmanageable here in NY I'll head to my parcel at Chevelon Canyon Ranch in AZ. That's a different paradigm altogether.

Thank you for all you do.

Woodchuck Pirate
aka Raymond J Raupers Jr USA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.81
ETH 3815.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50