random anarchist thoughts

in #anarchy6 years ago

failure.jpgI went to college at a major university in the U.S., and was a science major. I don't know if this was just in the science departments, but I met a lot of people that failed classes in college. To give you an idea, it was over 100. The interesting thing about all of this was that only a single person out of all these people failed because of the professor. Now, I understand that sometimes a university you may get a really smart professor that is not good a conveying complicated technical information, but I find it hard to believe that at a good university you are going to find that many professors that were that bad a teaching.

So what caused all this failure? I didn't know everyone that well, nor did I really know a lot about every class that they took. In some cases I did know the people well, and had taken the same classes that they were talking about. In one particular case I know going out to hockey games and then coming back and playing Doom until 2 in the morning had a lot more to do with the person failing the class than having a bad professor. Another guy I new well, the one person that actually did not blame the professor, said he failed because "I just was not smart enough to pass". While he was not the smartest guy in the world, he was not stupid. The going out and getting drunk and chasing girls was what the problem really was. I could go on, but the point is in every case where I new the person it was simply a lack of effort that caused the failure.

What I don't understand is why so few people take responsibility for there actions, or lack of action. Why is it always some one else's fault? Even when it's not someone else's fault then circumstances were just beyond there control. For example, "it was bad luck", "I just am not smart enough", etc.

What made all of this come to mind was the YouTube shooter. She said YouTube was censoring her, and to be fair they do censor some people. But if you look at the range of topics it was not really the type of material they censor. I never actually saw any of the videos so I don't know. If the reporting is accurate, and I know that is a big if, then it sounds like another person that was trying to blame someone else for there failure, and unfortunately that is all to common in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72