A bit of an introducion

in #anarchy8 years ago

Some of you will already know WizWom, the Wizard Wombat - I've been offering thoughts randomly for over 30 years on social sites, back to the days of FIDONET and Usenet over dial-up. One of the issues that has always been a part of this is the bility to censor. Usenet was the best, because of its multiple path/multiple share transmission system. But they worked out how to do blacklists for sites and accounts, mostly to combat spam - but anything that can stop one type of message can stop any type of message.
And Microsoft has been acquiring social media; what wasn't already censored by government intervention is radidly turning that way. you don't have to get a facebook ban more than once for some innocuous flame war before you know the platform only survives by inertia. And I've seen inertia blow away like the wind - does anyone remember DejaVu?

So - I am a voluntarist. I believe the only way we should interact is voluntary association and free interchange. I believe using force or fraud to achieve things is evil, even when voted on by more than 50% of the "important" people. If an idea is good enough to get that much support, then it can damn well be funded without theft from those who dislike it.

I have a family and I want my son to grow up happy and free, to be a light to the world. I want him to be able to stand against tyrants, with intelligence and planning to do it as safely as possible. Agorism can only go so far against Tyrrany, I think.

I think, though, the thing that will provide the best possibility of peace is helping everyone to live a good, prosperous happy life, for everyone on the planet to see a path to comfort and pleasure. The resources that we know about on the planet are plenty to let everyone earn a life as free from worry as a moden American. Energy is a desperate need to do this, and Nuclear Power is the only technology which can do it at all. (Oh, the fossil fuel is there - but the would need about 4x the current amount of power available, and that is a hell of a lot of coal being mined day in and day out.) So I learned nuclear engineering and published a master's thesis, Feasibility Study of a Nuclear Power Plant With No Moving Parts. i put my time and effort behind what I believe in.

Sort:  

Interesting post. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68