Egypt -- Behind Psalm 23:4 ?

in #ancient6 years ago

What was copied from ancient Egypt ??


Looking into old ancient Egypt and dabbling with making old weapons I saw this picture and was thinking about duplicating the staff and what looked like a flail of some sort.

.jpg

I identified one as a staff and the other to my wonder was called a rod, they both were to protect one in the afterlife, a staff was also used as a weapon.

Then I thought hold on a second and remembered Psalm 23:4 from when I was a child.

(A Psalm of David.)


The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.
3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name's sake.
4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me;

[thy rod and thy staff they comfort me]


5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.
6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

Could it be a lot of sayings of todays modern religions were taken from ancient stories of older times?


I will look into this more and keep you posted...

STEEMIT RULES


logobottom.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50