DUKU DUKU FOREST HIDDEN DANGERS

While I was based in Durban we didn't do much training as that was completed in Kimberley whilst doing basics. We were there to assist the base as it was a training unit for the special forces. On one of their training cycles they had to go to Duku Duku forest ,which is up in the Natal north coast.

It is very humid here and you learn quickly why you have insect repellent. The windows on our accommodation were made out of chicken wire ,so just enough room for the monster mosquitoes to squeeze through and pester you. I didn't realize at the time but that was the least of our worries. The forest is famous for the Gaboon viper along with a host of other snakes. In this region the list is endless from Black Mambas to Mozambican Spitting Cobras. The one that every one is worried about though is the Gaboon viper.

The problem with this snake is the camouflage it has is that good and it lies on the floor amongst the fallen leaves. It is almost impossible to spot unless it is moving. The problem with the bite ,is that it is highly venomous and even though rare your chances in this forest are limited. You are roughly an hour away from medical help and 60 minutes is a long time. It affects the tissue and organs and heart failure is not uncommon. If you make it, the tissue damage can lead to loss of limbs.

We were tasked with moving a pile of railway sleepers on the one morning and I was happy to help until we got down to the last few layers. Some of the guys had dug a pit and had large coffee cans. I had no idea that they were planning on catching snakes. This to me was insane as flirting with danger was not on my bucket list. I stood back and watched the last few rows of sleepers being lifted and moved, I was a little apprehensive. They caught about 3 snakes that day and were severely reprimanded for their actions.

I have a serious respect for snakes and won't play with one unless threatened. I don't know if my reflexes are fast enough but I am not looking to find out anytime soon either. My motto is always respect the surroundings you are in and avoid conflict with nature ,as it seems to win normally.

Unfortunately the Gaboon viper is on the endangered list like so many of the different species we have.

Sort:  

howdy today @cryptoandcoffee! oh man...this post really is good and it really creeps me out! just look at that dang thing blending into the foliage..my my my...did you ever see this one in person?

and if this thing is on the endangered species list is that such a bad thing? I mean I love animals but venomous snakes...I don't know if we need many of those.

I have only seen them at the local pet shop. i was planning to go there tomorrow. Didn't make sense and don't know if it's legal as they have a breeding pair of Gaboon's there. Who would want them as a pet? They can kill you. You will be shocked when you see what they have in there. Will do it tomorrow as it will give me something to do.

lol! oh man, I am anxiously awaiting that post sir..with the emphasis on anxious! snakes creep me out.

Did you get your airdrop yesterday?

hey @cryptoandcoffee..I'm sorry I don't even know what an airdrop is, I've heard the term on Steemit but have no idea what that is.

Ok. Go to my feed i just resteemed it. Follow the instructions and claim $40 worth of coins. I did mine last night it takes a little time after step 3 but worth it.

Yup, the arm had a strange ways of keeping us entertained and sharpening your senses was one of them. Sadly as you say Kaboon's are endangered due to man's greed and lust for killing animals instead of protecting them.
Humed and mosquito infested places are not on my to do list at any time, but I don't mind snakes. Lucky you never ended up on the receiving end of one of those, they have of the largest fangs in the snake kingdom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98