The wake up call

in #anhouraday6 years ago

More

Have you ever felt Steemit could be much more? Because I do. I'm a longtime Reddit user and came here thinking
"This is gonna be Reddit, but without #censorship"
"The comments are gonna be incredibly #funny"
"The #community will be engaged even more since money is at play"

yaddayaddayada


Don't stare, that's not the point. It's just me thinking real hard.

Communities

Ok, this may be a major pain point. I think that until Steemit has real "subs" like Reddit, people will be lost. Especially since people probably came here in the first place thinking reddit-clone!!! (OK I have no source on this except me). Subs will play a huge part into #filtering posts. Tags won't work for that, Tags are one thing, subs are another. It provides moderation ( #leadership ) and generates communities ( #engagement ).

When vs How

This will happen, and the sooner it happens the better. I totally get the steem devs are working on the blockchain itself, but without also improving the front-end ( #steemit ), we might lose the #momentum. And like everything in life, the when is as important as the how.

SMT

How do you envision the future of Steem(it) my friends? Do you think SMT will fix all the problems at once?


Julie xx

Sort:  

When I got here there were a lot of people talking about this being like Reddit or Facebook. It's not. It's closer to Tumblr or Blogger or something.

I think that we do need some kind of communities and "subs" though.

For the last few months, it's started to feel like Steemit is intentionally not mak8ing any advances. Like they're waiting for another interface to come along and do better.

We all have our hopes for this place.

Sadly, most of us have to just sit back and hope.

Hoping is kinda bad no? How do we actually take action?

Hire a team of programmers to work on the things we want.

Yeah blockchain is not my strength..

Hello julienbh!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Communities will help build out niches and improve discovery. There should be lots of community-level Trending pages that allow people to create an audience there.

I'm a little worried SMTs will just continue to fracture the attention on Steem, and won't fix anything directly.

This. SMT won't be the do all / fix all solution most think they are. It might even complexify the actual platform, and onboarding's already a challenge.

Not well if it does not sort out the front end it is poor really and hard to use! I am currently using busy.org which is a lot better but still we need improvement. Free choice of what post you read and more use ability 💯🐒

That's why I think fractioning posts in categories would help us find what we need, faster.

For sure being able to select subject easier and prioritise people to your own criteria would benefit it greatly. But also the layout it's restrictive and confusing even for season users I feel 💯🐒

"Don't stare" Sorry not sorry.
I am optimist so I hope for the best. Sure steemit has its share of problems. But as far as I see it benefits are far greater than these problems. I want all the benefits...

Steemit is my first international experience. I have never been outside of Lithuania. In this place for the first time I am connecting with foreigners. I am having a lot of fun. So I hope that sooner or later most of the steemians will also learn to have some fun. that they will care less about upvotes and more about people and experiences. I know, I know. I am a naive dreamer and that is not likely to ever change.

Just like you, I do hope it changes though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63