You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amazing nature #12 - Why do hummingbirds fly so fast?

in #animal5 years ago

I rescued a hummingbird after it had be hit by a falcon. The poor thing had a broken shoulder. I contacted a lady in San Diego known as the Hummingbird lady. She told me that I should have it put down because it would never be able to fly and it would suffer and die. She also told me that due to the very aggressive nature of the bird, if it were any larger we would probably have to shoot at them because they would try to kill us.
I did finally find a vet who would put the little bird down. Most will not because they are federally protected birds. I brought it home and buried it.

About two weeks after that I found one laying in my yard. It had a bee stuck to the end of its beak. I removed the bee and the bird laid lifeless in my hands. I blew into his face and he opened his eyes. It took a few minutes for him to come around but he shook it off and flew. From that day on he sat in the tree right outside my bedroom window.

Sort:  

Very nice story my friend! Thank you so much for sharing it!!!
Have a beautiful Sunday 🤩

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08